Pure Barre NYC Review

I love to change up my workouts, but usually find that going out for a quick run is the most convenient. This week I’ve challenged myself to diversify, and boy did I. This morning my friend Ashley (check out her blog here) got up at the crack of dawn for a 6:30am Pure Barre class. To say that I was frightened is an understatement. I can run, I can do spin, but balance on my toes with a ball between my legs? Terrifying. The class claims that it’s a “a total body workout that lifts your seat, tones your thighs and burns fat in record-breaking time.” Unlike the times I’ve taken yoga where I’m not sure if I’m doing it right or if I’m working muscles, this I felt from the first minute. Our instructor was Meaghan and not only was she adorable and not intimidating in that I’m-hot-and-skinny-and-can-put-my-legs-over-my-head kinda way. She made Ash and I feel extremely comfortable. The class was tiny with just 4 of us so she was able to really focus on making sure we were doing things correctly. And I appreciate her moving her mic to the side when correcting me so I didn’t feel totally lame. Overall I loved the class and as I’m writing this not even 2 hrs later my arms and thighs are like jelly. Certainly a sign I did something right (I hope). The only segment I wasn’t a fan of were a bunch of ab exercises on the barre that I didn’t understand and couldn’t really do. But everything else I got a grasp on and was even able to push myself to go just a bit farther or stronger. The studio was clean and the music was fab, which I find very important. I hate classes with crappy music or straight-up dance/techno/wordless beats.

Right now there’s a deal in NYC on gilt city for 2 months of unlimited classes for 299. Yes, it’s pricey, but if you can afford it, it’s worth it. If I hadn’t just renewed my month of bootcamp I’d consider it and maybe freeze my gym membership. Regardless I hope to return. Ashley is probably buying the pack so I’m sure she’ll get me to come back for another hardcore sesh.

Have you ever tried any barre-type of classes?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pure Barre NYC Review | Fit Chick in the City
  2. Sam @ Mom At The Barre
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 00:54:57

    I love barre classes! I have tried a lot of the ones offered in NYC. I took Pure Barre last month and really enjoyed it. Not a fan of the barre ab work either!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

