Prepping Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is no doubt my favorite holiday. While I won’t get to spend it with my immediate family this year, I get to enjoy an awesome meal with my grandma and cousins. Since all the food is taken care of, I decided I wanted to make some dessert. Apple pie and pumpkin cupcakes w/ cream cheese frosting here I come.

Wednesday:
I started with the apple pie. Who cooks something they’re allergic to? Me apparently. I’m allergic apples, but only when they’re raw so baked is a ok. But snacking while prepping is a no no. So I peeled and cut 6 organic fuji apples I picked up at TJ’s over the weekend.

Next up I added a cup of splenda, tablespoon of flour, lemon juice and cinammon. Then added into the pie dish and crust. Now my friends instructions on this part were, make sure it’s a heaping mound. Looks pretty heaping to me, right?

Next I added the top crust, cut some slits, and it’s ready to bake.

And done.

Next up were the cupcakes, Martha Stewart style. Mix the dry ingredients in 1 bowl, wet in the other. Then mix together with the pumpkin puree.

Ok so the recipe says it makes 18 cupcakes yet I ended up with 24. Hmm.

20 minutes later and you got this:

Thursday:
Woke up for a Thanksgiving morning run. Now that the temp has dropped, I’m remembering what it’s like training in the winter and how my body needs to get used to it. I did a 2-miler and it wasn’t so easy peasy, but still felt good nonetheless.

Ok time to make the cream cheese frosting. Cream cheese, 3/4 stick butter, tspn of vanilla and 3 1/2 cups (yep) confectioner’s sugar.

Frost the cupcakes (try not to lick spoon)



Ready to be transported…Happy Thanksgiving!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 18:28:57

    yum, those cupcakes look awesome. you can’t go wrong with cream cheese frosting. 🙂

    have a great thanksgiving, Robyn!

    Reply

  2. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 18:29:59

    Happy (late) Thanksgiving! Okay, I have to say I’ve never heard of someone being allergic to apples. That would be so tough for me since I eat one every day! So nice of you to make an apple pie! It looks fantastic, and so do the cupcakes. Love the cupcake boxes.

    I hope you had a great day!!

    Reply

  3. FruitFly
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 20:15:53

    Very interesting that you can’t have raw apples, but you can have them baked. That dessert all looks very tasty!

    Reply

  4. hbobier
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 11:16:45

    You’re allergic to apples?? I’ve never heard of that, but at least you can have apple pie! 🙂

    I’m starting to run outside, and it’s getting pretty chilly over here, too! It’s 12 degrees out right now, and I’m trying to decide if I should run or stay indoors…hm…

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 20:59:08

    I’ve never tried to make my own apple pie but it’s something I’d love to try to do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

