Sunday wrap up

What a productive Sunday I had that included a trip to the Farmer’s market and cooking up a veggie feast. Before I get to the cooking, a little JC update. I’m down a little over 7 lbs! I’m very happy with this. I’ve also been keeping up with a 5 mile run once a week with my friend so with the diet going well and the runs consistent, I’m feeling pretty great. Ok, on to the food!

The market is very small, but it’s across from my apt building so I can’t complain. I got inspired to try some new stuff so I went and picked up an acorn squash, a parsnip and cippolini onions. Random, I know.

I got pretty hungry in the afternoon so I decided to finally make those parsnip fries everyone (especially Caitlin) always raves about. They’re a little too starchy for an everyday thing (they’re a limited food on JC), but it’s Sunday so what the heck? I peeled the BAP (that’s big ass parsnip). I cut it up like fries and layed it out on a sheet.

That’s a before and after. All I did was stick it in an oven at 375 with a little EVOO, salt and pepper until they looked ready.

For dinner, I really outdid myself. I decided to save the acorn squash so that it wouldn’t be a super starchy day, and cook up the spaghetti squash I had already. Although it takes longer, baking the squash is so much easier than cutting that sucker and then microwaving. Just put it on a pan, stick it in a 375 degree oven and bake for 50 minutes to an hour.

While I let it cool a bit, I layed out the peeled onions and a box of cherry tomatoes on the pan. Sprinkled just a touch of EVOO, salt, pepper and thyme and stuck it in the hot oven for about 20 minutes.


So pretty. Time to scoop the squash.

Next I combined.

Then stick the JC ravioli on top and you have a pretty awesome and healthy meal.

YUM

How was your weekend?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 09:40:07

    LOVE spaghetti squash… not sure it’s the adult in me that loves the taste or the kid in me that loves actually making the “spaghetti”…. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 10:43:10

    I loooove parsnip fries! I picked up a BAP at the Farmer’s Market on Thursday, so I think I’m going to make some fries tonight. Yum!

    Reply

  3. hbobier
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 11:39:31

    Congrats on all the weight loss! Super excited for you. I always hate when diets try to tell me not to eat the starchy stuff (potatoes, carrots, etc.) but those are the good stuff! You’re doing great sticking to the plan. 🙂

    I also happen to have a TON of parsnips in my fridge right now, and I think you’ve inspired me to make them into fries. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 22:14:57

    Spaghetti squash is quite possibly the greatest vegetable. A veggie that acts as my favorite carb?! What’s not to love? Glad you’re having success an feeling good about JC.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

