Spectating the NYC marathon

Marathon Sunday is one of the best days in New York. I woke up to music blasting outside my window as 1st ave got ready for the runners. Before I knew it, the women elites were coming and we went outside to check them out. It’s amazing how fast they go.

After the women passed, my friends and I went back inside to eat and have some drinks before heading back down to see more people, the first of which was the Chilean miner. He was struggling by 18 but the crowd was cheering for him.

He’s the guy in the knee brace.

Soon it was time to get ready to look for my friend Lauren. I’ve told you all about her before. We started our running journey together and I’m so amazed at her dedication to run the marathon for autism. I was so nervous I’d miss her, so much pressure to spot people you know! I remember how great it felt to see my sister and friends during my half so I wanted to make sure she saw us and my awesome sign.

Yep, I used glitter.
Here’s the group of us waiting. We joked we’d be busy taking pics of ourselves when she passed us by haha.

As we’re waiting I saw some people coming up with Subway on their shirts. Then I realized, it’s Jared! We cheered on the Subway guy.

While we were waiting we also saw 2 people fall in a pot hole. The woman lost a tooth and bled everywhere. I told the cop that was the 2nd person we saw fall and they should put a cone up, but they couldn’t even get a paramedic come let alone a cone. Can you imagine falling that far into it?

Finally, I heard a friend say, “Here she comes!” Lauren looked great for 18 miles!

After seeing Lauren, we headed upstairs to hang out and relax while some of the others went to see her at the finish. So proud of you, Laur!

If anyone ever wants to visit NYC, Marathon Sunday is such a fun time to come. Nothing like it.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 10:22:53

    it seems like such a great experience!

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 11:27:10

    Wow looks so fun!! I’ve never watched a race before that I didn’t participate in – it must be such a cool experience to be on the other side of it!

    Reply

  3. Keri
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 12:54:35

    thanks for posting this…its awesome to read about the race from another perspective. My dad and I almost went into the city for it but didn’t make it in…

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 13:00:54

    I would love to be there on Marathon Sunday!!!! Maybe one day I’ll actually get in! 🙂

    Reply

  5. ginny
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 13:16:17

    We were watching the race from underneath the 59th Street Bridge — we saw tons of interesting sights, but somehow managed to miss the 5 friends that we were there to cheer on! It was a GREAT weekend to visit NYC! But now I need to find a replay of the whole thing on TV, since it’s much easier to spectate from my couch 🙂

    Reply

  6. Lisa
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 14:54:46

    It would be so awesome to be a spectator and cheer everyone on! Next year I hope to volunteer for the Portland Marathon so I can be involved.

    Reply

  7. DiningAndDishing
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 16:34:50

    I am so impressed that the Chilean miner managed to run the marathon. Talk about resilient! It’s awesome that you got to witness that :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

  8. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 01:39:55

    Def sounds like a blast!

    Reply

  9. hbobier
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 14:13:28

    Fun! I like that you got to see Jared..hehe.

    Reply

  10. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 00:00:55

    wow, i can imagine that would be quite the spectacle! congrats to your friend! 🙂

    Reply

  11. FruitFly
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 23:50:33

    That sounds like so much fun! Poor lady with the tooth though – yikes!
    And congrats to Lauren!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

