Making JC gourmet

Even though I’m eating all Jenny Craig food, all the time, doesn’t mean I can’t spice it up with what they call “free foods.”

Last night’s dinner was a JC lasagna, so I decided to bake a spaghetti squash to go with. Usually I microwave squash to save time, but I got home early and decided to go the long route. Either way, it’s hard to go wrong with some SS.

I preheated the oven to 375 and poked some holes through the squash (so it doesn’t explode). Bake for about an hour and it’s perfect.

Baking it whole also saves you the muscle work of cutting that baby in half when it’s raw. Scoop out the seeds, and then fork out the strands and it’s ready.

I also had a box of cherry tomatoes that I wanted to roast to put on top (instead of sauce). I placed them on a baking sheet with just a bit of salt and put them in the oven for 10 minutes.

From this:

To this:
I have to say, it came out great and definitely bulked up the JC lasagna.

Sunday night, I did something similar to add to my dish. Kale chips and carrot fries!

The kale didn’t take long at all and I have no idea if I did it right, but it was pretty good to me.

The carrots take much longer, but when they’re done, yum. I pretty much love any vegetable roasted.

No gym for me so far because of my back, but I’m hoping to try to get some sort of workout in today.

Happy Wednesday!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa @ early morning run
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 09:44:52

    Looks delicious! I think it’s funny that you haven’t made butternut squash because I still haven’t made spaghetti squash! I really want to try it but for some odd reason I think I’m a little intimidated?! By squash? Weird, I know. Hope you’re doing well!!

    Reply

  2. Beth @ Beth's Journey to Thin
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 10:18:50

    I’m so curious about Jenny Craig! Will you do a post soon explaining the whole program, your progress, what the food is like, etc!?! 🙂

    Reply

  3. hbobier
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 10:28:16

    I’m with you–roasted veggies are aah-mazing.

    Reply

  4. Molly
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 12:00:33

    I could live on roasted veggies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

