I’m a princess

So much to fill you all in on. I have a new fave food, a new injury and a new race to prepare for. Let’s start with the most annoying update. Yes, I have another injury, but I’m hoping it’s temporary. I woke up Friday morning after having a great 5-mile run outside on Thursday, with pain in my lower neck, upper back. Luckily I had the day off so I stayed in bed. When I woke up yesterday, it wasn’t any better at all. I got a massage at the advice of friends (I hate massages) and she focused on the area. I had trouble sleeping on it but hoping it’s worse before it gets better kinda thing. So Happy Halloween from my Icy-Hot covered back in bed. I did manage to go out for a little last night though. Can you guess my costume?

A Bachelor contestant!

Ok so favorite food. I’ve heard a lot about kale chips, which I still haven’t made, but have been really into sauteeing it. On Jenny Craig, non-starchy veggies are free foods that you can add to bulk up meals. I take a huge bunch of kale, wash it well, and then throw it in a pan that’s sprayed with Pam. As it wilts, I tear up more pieces to add in. The only other thing I add is lemon juice as it’s sauteeing. I love how it turns so bright green.

Once it’s done, I put it in a bowl and put some balsamic on top while it’s hot. Yum.

Now, onto my new race. My friend and I officially are signed up and have flights booked to the Disney Princess Half Marathon!! I’m both excited and scared. I’m going to have a different mindset going into this one and not stress about time and running a PR. I just want to enjoy it! Who else is running in this race? I can’t wait to be Princess Robyn.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 14:34:18

    Cute costume. I hope your neck/back is better soon. Weird injury.

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 10:59:44

    Ohhh so exciting about the half marathon!!!! And I loooove kale. it’s definitely one my favorites!

    Reply

  3. hbobier
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 14:38:22

    I love the costume!!! Perfect for you. 🙂

    And so exciting about the Disney Princess Half! It sounds like such a fun race.

    Reply

  4. FruitFly
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 20:07:05

    Creative costume idea!

    And congratulations on becoming a Princess! That is going to be my 1st 1/2 marathon and I am so excited! Terrified, yet excited!

    Hope you start feeling better soon. A sore body is an unhappy body. 😦
    ~RR

    Reply

Leave a Reply

