Running in the rain makes you sick

Yep. Last week I was too hardcore for my own good. My new running partner Rachel and I had decided we were going to go for a run together on Thursday. The rain ruined out plan. Except Rach was determined to go, so I wasn’t going to bail either. We did a four mile loop in the park soaking wet. But you know once you get wet it doesn’t get much worse and it was actually pretty good of a run. Plus it was just us and the NYC marathon trainers which was pretty cool. But today, 4 days later, I’m sick. I’m guessing that might have had to do with it.

In other news, I’m on a new diet plan. (I know, how many times have you heard that before?) I’m trying out Jenny Craig, which I’ve heard a lot of people doing lately. I love cooking my concoctions and I won’t really be able to do that anymore, but my biggest struggle is portion control and night snacking and this should really help. Plus all my meals will be there for me ready to go and it doesn’t get easier than that. I’m hoping to drop 10 pounds, so today is Day 1! For your viewing pleasure, here’s my very first Jenny meal. An egg scramble. And an awful pic. Sorry.

Told ya I couldn’t stay away from blogging too long.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 08:28:01

    I live in the desert SW, so I don’t run in the rain. I’m afraid I’ll melt… ;-p

    Reply

  2. RunToTheFinish
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 09:03:23

    I love running in the rain, at least when it’s not freezing.

    Reply

  3. hbobier
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 09:29:56

    Welcome back! I’ve only gone running in the rain once, and it wasn’t by choice as much as it started raining mid-run. It was interesting, to say the least.

    But hopefully you don’t stay sick for too long! Do you have cupboards stocked with soup? Feel better!!

    Reply

  4. FruitFly
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 23:34:20

    Perhaps it is because I’m an Oregonian … but I do my best running in the rain! I guess it makes me run faster so I can get out of it faster! Hope you feel better soon. 🙂
    ~RR

    Reply

  5. Beth
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 12:00:17

    I’m looking forward to hearing how Jenny Craig goes for you!

    Reply

  6. liz
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 14:39:20

    hi i have been following ur blog…love it! just got a job in LES in NYC! if u ever wanna meet up for drinks let me know!

    Reply

  7. Becky
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 06:46:54

    Running in the rain does feel pretty hardcore. So sorry to hear that your not feeling well now, though. Eat plenty of soup and take plenty of naps. Feel better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

