The best veggie chili

When I got back from my 10k on Sunday, I was motivated to get some healthy meals together for the week. I started by finally taking out my salad dressing maker I had gotten for my birthday. Salad dressing is so simple to make and is way better than anything I would either buy or get somewhere for lunch (can we say added sugar?). I followed one of the recipes on the bottle and made a dijon vinaigrette with red wine vinegar, evoo and dijon mustard. Simple. Except when I knocked it over and spilled out half of the contents on my counter. But we’ll ignore that part.

Now I have the dressing here at work for the week.

Next up I made the best veggie chili ever. I used Barefoot Contessa’s chicken chili recipe as the base, but excluded chicken and added carrots, zucchini and white beans. Man was it good.

I started by sauteeing 2 yellow onions in EVOO. After about 10 minutes added a little minced garlic (I buy the stuff in the jar), followed by 2 yellow peppers and 1 red. Then add a teaspoon chili powder and a teaspoon cumin.

Carrots and a zucchini went in next.

Next up I added 2 28 oz cans of whole tomatoes. So you’re supposed to break them up with your hands, which I did, and which caused a mess in the kitchen. Tomatoes are very squirty let me tell you.

Let it all simmer for 30 minutes and the delicious goodness is ready.

Have you made any fall feeling dishes yet?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 09:04:40

    That looks good. My daughter recently declared that she’s a vegetarian and I need to try some veggie recipes. i think she’d like that

    Reply

  2. liz
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 09:10:58

    dang! i always make my own salad dressings but i hafta use them asap! where did you buy that maker? so cool!

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 09:31:02

    I have a butternut squash stew in the crockpot for tonight. It’s a new recipe – I can’t wait!

    Reply

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 10:34:08

    Chili really does seem to be the trend of the week! I love how the weather seems to affect us all in the same way…

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 12:11:05

    I love chili-especially homemade chili. Unfortunately my boyfriend hates it so I don’t make it very often.

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 07:11:48

    Chili is such a great fall meal! I make veggie, turkey, and chicken chili pretty often, but I never do it the same way twice. Haha. My mom has actually asked me to make a batch this week…I should do that!

    Reply

  7. DiningAndDishing
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 12:53:38

    Pumpkin and squash oats are about as fall as I’ve gotten so far. Can’t wait for the holiday dishes to start popping up :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

  8. Jacklyn Johnston
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 14:17:17

    Oh wow this looks delicious! I love baking in the fall so I’ve been all about pumpkin cookies, apple pie etc…I need to focus my energy more on healthy things like you.

    Reply

  9. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 01:16:44

    LOL. I have one of those dressing things too. Mine is from Pampered Chef. What a nightmare. It spills all over!! Not feeling so pampered over here!

    Reply

  10. Jean@RoastedRootsandPumpkinSpice
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 06:55:30

    This looks awesome. I actually prefer veggie chili over meat. Love all the pretty colors!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

