Back in the game (10K race report)

It’s been awhile since I raced, and a really long while since I felt great during one. Today I was back out there amongst my runner people for the Governor’s Island 10k.

I woke up at 5:40, way too early for a Sunday. I had my whole wheat toast with natural PB, got my gear on, and went to get my friend Rachel who was running with me. Together we headed to the ferry all the way downtown. This race was an interesting one. It was its inaugural run and it was on an island off of Manhattan. They gave us the ferry times and Rachel and I caught the first one. It was beyond freezing. It was barely 7am and the first fall feeling day and everyone was huddling together to keep warm. I snapped 2 pretty pic during the 5 minute ride of my pretty city.


Over an hour after we got there it finally time to start racing. I couldn’t wait to get warm. Rachel and I knew we’d run the first mile together than I’d asses if I was going to keep up with her 5’7″ legs.
Mile 1- 9:50. My first mile is always my fastest, but I was feeling good and ok with keeping a 10 pace.
Mile 2- 10:02. Rachel and I split up and I was still feeling strong.
Mile 3- 10:27. At this point I was thinking how much easier a flat run feels when you’re used to Central Park
Mile 4-10:30. This is where I planned to decide if I could run the whole thing and I thought, oh yeah I can.
Mile 5- 10:40. Ankles were hurting but I knew I’d run the whole thing!
Mile 6- 10:47. Ok this race is going longer than 6.2
Mile.32- 2:59. Yep race ran long, but I totally kicked my intended time’s ass.
Finish- 1:05:23


Overall, I was so pleased with how I felt and performed. My knee got sore towards the end, but it was totally strong throughout (both are pretty sore now and yes, I’m icing).

After the race I found Lisa from Early Morning Run. It’s funny how you feel like you know a bloggy friend so well when you’ve never even met. Her, her husband and I headed back to the city for brunch. It was so great hanging with them!

When I got back home I cleaned, grocery shopped and made hearty veggie chili. Recipe and pics to come!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 18:37:57

    I feel the same way!! It was so great to finally meet you in person! Glad to hear you made the chili you were talking about. I’m going to post my race recap tomorrow. I think the wind this morning made me really tired!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 19:24:56

    Great job!! Sounds like it was good all around – good knees and good time – congrats!

    Reply

  3. Ginny
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 19:31:12

    Glad you enjoyed your race. Great pics from your ferry ride!

    Reply

  4. abbi
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 19:42:09

    Great race…glad you felt great during it! The pictures from the ferry ride are gorgeous!

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 19:43:52

    Great job! I hope my 10K at the end of October goes that well!

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 19:48:19

    Congrats on a great race! I’ve never run a 10K race and it seems like such a fun distance. Glad you felt strong and ended with a big smile 🙂

    Reply

  7. Beth
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 20:06:22

    Congrats on your race!! Walking away feeling good is the best way to leave a race.

    Reply

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 22:04:21

    Great job on the race! I think the 10k is one of my favorite distances- it really is a challenge!

    Reply

  9. Jacklyn Johnston
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 14:41:44

    That’s so great! Last time I read your blog you weren’t running 😦 Now that I’m back from my two months of dropping off the face of the earth, haha, I’m so glad you’re back in it!! Congrats!

    Reply

  10. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 20:58:04

    Great Race!!! Congrats!

    Reply

  11. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 23:13:45

    WTG! Nothing like a great race to bring you back into the swing of things 🙂

    Reply

  12. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 19:33:10

    congrats on your race!!! must’ve been a blast, how many participants, do you know? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

