5-miler

This week I banged out a 5-miler. Maybe it’s the power of the park, but I seem to have more stamina and more fight in me when I attempt the loop. The first 2 miles felt good. I knew that if I got through those 2, I’d push myself for a third, and by that point I’d want to finish out the fourth. The plan worked. By mile 2.5 my ankles started to give me trouble. My whole lower body was achy. Then the knee aches followed. Not pain to make me stop, but my knee caps just hurt. I finished the 4 in about 45 minutes. It’s hard to remember the days when I would do a sub 10 minute mile, but now I’m just happy to run without stopping. I got water from the fountain, and started up my run back home. It was mostly down hill which definitely helped. I banged out the final mile and felt so happy (and relieved) I did it.

The weird thing is two days later I tried to run and could barely get through a mile. My calves were so tight they were burning. Is this from not stretching enough post 5-miler? I’ve got 1 week left until my 6 mile race so hopefully they’ll cool down by them.

When I got back from the run I prepared a fresh meal. My co worker had given me two small tomatoes from her garden and I already had a zucchini and yellow pepper and whole wheat pasta on hand, so I bought 2 more tomatoes and cooked them up. First I sauteed the pepper and zucchini, while the pasta water was boiling. Next I added in the chunks of tomato. I love tomato sauce but didn’t have any so I thought this might be the next best thing.


A large serving of pasta and chunky veggies and I was feeling good post 5 miles.

Tonight I have my cousin’s wedding. Do you watch Housewives of NJ? The wedding is at the Brownstone, the place the Manzo’s own. Should be fun!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 15:23:42

    I wonder if tight calves are related to the knee pain. One of the things PT had me do for my knee was stretch my calves by stepping on something about the height of a brick with the balls of me feet, then bring my heels down toward the floor (make sense?)

    Reply

  2. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 17:08:25

    You should try to stretch your calves throughout the day. And your hamstrings and quads too. Have you tried doing dynamic stretches? I’ve changed to doing those before and after my runs and also throughout the day (when not at work). It just helps to stay loose. Maybe that will help?!

    How was the wedding? Hope you had a great time!

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 20:28:59

    I sad as it is, I LOVE the Housewives! Have fun at the wedding!

    Take it easy on the runs up until your race…maybe an epsom salt bath with plenty of gentle stretching.

    Reply

  4. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 20:56:07

    good luck on your upcoming race!! make sure you take a few days off pre-run so that you’ll be well rested (and enjoy those carbs :))

    Reply

  5. Beth
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 14:06:13

    I’ve been trying to make an effort to stretch more even after shorter runs (3-4 miles). I am SO bad about stretching but find my next runs are always way better if I do. It’s a hard habit to break though!

    Reply

  6. android apps
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:56

    5-miler Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about 5-miler Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Justin Rolf

    Reply

Leave a Reply

