Sweating it out

I did another Bikram sesh yesterday and it never gets easier. I drip with sweat, feel like I’m going to pass out, struggle with poses, yet I continue to go back. Why? Because after I feel great. The most amazing thing to me about Bikram is that size does not correlate with success in this class. There are plenty of people I would not look at and say, damn they’re fit, and they can rock that Padangustasana like it’s nobody’s business. For those who don’t know much about Bikram, it’s a practice of hot yoga. Temperatures are kept at about 95-100 degrees and the session includes 2 breathing exercises and 26 poses, each done twice. To say you sweat is an understatement. My hair is soaking wet and my shirt is a different shade when I leave. I enjoy it because it’s challenging and you burn a lot of calories while simply standing in different ways. It’s also helped increased my flexibility and I’m pretty sure it’s been helpful with my knee issues.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve gained a few pounds. But even more frustrating is the fact that my clothes don’t fit! I’m not sure what to do. I’ve been working out, eating more healthfully. I’m wondering if it has anything to do with become a vegetarian, although it’s not like I eat pasta every night now instead.

How do you break a weightloss rut?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 13:50:18

    I LOVE bikram! I haven’t been in so long but want to go back this week hopefully. It is so cleansing even though its SO hot. I think its actually supposed to be 105º in the room! And yes, I’m sort of in a weightloss rut but trying to focus less on the number and more on how I feel, but its tough!

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 14:54:47

    My best advice is to just keep on doing what you’re doing- focus on listening to the body and what’s good for you. You’ve become so good at figuring out healthy options and a good workout schedule. My weight fluctuates a good 5 pounds on a weekly basis. I don’t understand it, but as long as I feel good the whole time, I don’t question it too much…

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 15:13:51

    I still haven’t tried Bikram…

    Weightloss ruts…Try weight lifting, change your workouts. Stop running. Eat less. REALLY limit sugar intake. And avoid alcohol at all costs. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 20:31:04

    I’ve been going to hot yoga lately, too (not Bikram, but hot powerful flow)!

    Try to focus on how you FEEL. Do you feel strong and powerful? If so, try not to worry too much about the scale. But I know that’s always easier said than done!

    Reply

  5. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 01:26:04

    Do you drink enuf water? They say often times when we are hungry we are really thirsty.

    On the Bikram — never tried it. Not even sure if they offer it in my ghetto midwest town. But I’d love to try it sometime!! That’s cool it helps your knees. Maybe it would help my ITB.

    P.S. I’ll agree with Lisa and say again… limit da booze. After I already had 2 drinks this week. Meh.

    Reply

  6. Jennifer
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 14:47:46

    Keep on pushing girl. Really pay close attention to you diet. Make sure you are getting healthy fats, lean protein, and complex carbs. Trying taking a vitamin as well. Sometimes a deficiency in something can cause your to have difficulty losing weight.

    Reply

  7. ashley
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 12:35:19

    Focus on eating a lot of veggies and salad with protein on them, like chickpeas, beans, tofu, seitan, etc.
    Sometimes as a vegetarian, people tend to overindulge in grains and dairy, which promote weight gain.

    Check into vegan/vegetarian nutrition and make sure you’re hitting all of your bases. You may even want to start counting calories/protein/fats/vitamins for a week or so.

    Reply

  8. Erika
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 17:03:51

    Robyn,

    Which Bikram studio do you go to? I totally get what you mean – it’s like good torture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

