Not sure what I was thinking…

I’m supposed to run a 6 mile race in two weekends, and I’m starting to freak out. Yes, I kicked ass on a 4-miler last week, but I’d be surprised if I can manage much more than that on race day. Friday I had the day off so I ran 2.5 miles. It was an okay run. Today, i tested out my new knee brace and it was a struggle. Does anyone have experience with knee braces? I’m not sure if it’s too snug or just takes getting used to, but running with it felt like I had a weight on my ride ankle. My shin was so tight and felt like it was working so much harder than the left. Does it just take building up some strength?

After a mile I slid the knee brace down and finished out the second without it. Either I step it up this week, or I devise a plan for raceday. Maybe 3 miles run, 1 mile walk, final 2 run?

After the short run, I stopped by the farmer’s market near my apt. It’s definitely starting to feel like fall with all the cider and pumpkins! I picked up a few goodies, but still haven’t decided what I want to make for the week.

Next I made some oatmeal. I really prefer stovetop oats so I try to make them on the weekends. Next time around my PB will definitely be ready for oats in a jar. I switched it up and added some preserves so it was more like PB & J/Banana oats.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 12:26:51

    I don’t run in a knee brace. Did one race like that and in the end I really didn’t do myself any favors. For me it’s better to do more walking and less running when my knee is bad…and do it unbraced

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 12:27:40

    (I should have added, the knee brace messed up my gait so much I ended up with a sore hip in addition to my sore knee. That’s why I have abandoned knee braces all together)

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 13:50:49

    I wish I had knee brace advice for you, but I don’t! 😦 In reference to the race, though, I’m sure you’ll be fine. Your 4-miler went well, you’ve still got another weekend to fit in a longer run, and adrenaline will take you a long way on race day! No worries!

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 14:10:47

    I’ve never worn a knee brace, wish I could help!!
    Your race will be great – think positively. You can always run/walk if you need to!

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 18:26:54

    Sorry to hear about your struggles with your knee! I remember wearing knee braces when I was younger and I always did feel like they were tight and a bit on the uncomfortable side. You should check with your PT and explain how it feels to make sure it’s right. They do tend to get sweaty and a little tighter when you’re running.

    Your oats look great!! How can anyone go wrong with PB&J oats with banana?! Yum!

    Reply

  6. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 07:30:07

    I wear a knee brace and I really like it. It felt uncomfortable at first, but now I forget it is even there. Good job with your runs so far!

    Reply

  7. Beth
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 11:03:58

    I have one of those knee bands that I wear rather than a brace. I tried a brace and felt like I was suffocating and didn’t have good range of motion. It definitely depends on your injury/issue but I find the band works a lot better for me!

    Reply

  8. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 18:35:43

    i tried running with a knee brace once, but that didn’t last long. 😛 basically, it was awkward and i had no patience. i’m sure it’s something you get used to though, was it recommended by your doctor?

    if you google “The Globe And Mail” it’s a Canadian newspaper with an entire section just on running. there’s an article on the importance of form (taking short quick strides instead of longer ones. it’s easier on your joints and muscles.) maybe that could help? good luck to you girl, i’m sure your next race is gonna be awesome!

    Reply

  9. gobarefooting
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:44:39

    Knee braces will not allow you to build up the strength necessary to support your knee. The brace is there to do all the work so the knee and surrounding musculature are not irritated. My advice to clients is to only use a knee when you have to have support from an injury and if you are in need of bracing then you probably shouldn’t be training. Strengthening your inner and outer thigh with exercises like lateral lunges will go a long way towards stabilizing your knee and helping you get back to running.

    As for your race if you can finish four miles you can do six. My advice would be to look up Jeff Galloway’s interval methods and implement them into your training and even racing strategy. They take some getting used to but I have many clients running great times without injuries because they utilize simple 1 minute walk breaks every 3-5 minutes during runs.

    Reply

  10. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 16:37:10

    I’ve never run with a knee brace so I can’t really offer any suggestions, but I did want to add that your plan to take it a little easier in the middle of the race sounds like a good idea to me!

    Reply

  11. android apps
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:57

    Not sure what I was thinking… Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Not sure what I was thinking… Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Veronica Cassetta

    Reply

Leave a Reply

