Milestones

Since my knee issues flaired up, I haven’t run more than 2.5 miles, and I haven’t run in Central Park. Last night I conquered both. After trading my running time for Bikram the last few days, I knew I had to get a run in if I was going to attempt to prepare for the 10k I’m doing Oct. 3. In a stroke of perfect timing, my friend Rachel texted me (about something non-running related) yesterday at work. We then talked about our upcoming race and she mentioned she needed to go for a run and so I said, let’s do it together. I’m not a fan of running with someone, but I knew I’d push myself harder if I wasn’t alone, at that worst case, I’d drop out early. The plan was to do the 4 mile loop in Central Park. The first mile felt great. We were talking the entire time and it went by quickly. After mile 2, I thought, let me get to mile 3 and reasses. Secretly I knew if I hit 3, I’d push it to 4. I was so happy and proud of myself when we finished the loop in 44 minutes (Cat hill and all). Like I’ve said before, time is no concern to me at this point. Although the last mile was rough, and the back of my right knee is pretty sore, I’m glad I did it. I wasn’t in sheer pain, it was more a sore feeling. Hopefully bikram will stretch me out today.

On my way home I stopped by the store because my eating gets so off-track when I don’t have groceries. I got my veggies for the week and prepared some cous cous with peas, dried cranberries and feta. I ate the entire thing, probably not the best idea, but it was gooood.

Have you overcome anything lately?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 09:30:14

    Great job on the run!! Awesome!

    I need to learn to stretch more. This is definitely something that I don’t do enough. If only I could learn to follow my own advice……… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 09:49:25

    Do you know what is causing your knee pain? I wasn’t able to run until I had mine addressed (in my case with injections).

    Reply

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 09:50:13

    Good job on the run – just take care of that knee. That couscous dish sounds so good. yum!

    Reply

  4. lisa @ early morning run
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 09:52:49

    so happy for you that you got to run! I hope your knee is still feeling good today!

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 13:07:49

    I have a running injury right now–no running for at least another 6 weeks. I am trying to overcome the sadness and negative feelings. I started a weight lifting routine to see if that will challenge me while I’m sitting out 6 weeks.

    Reply

  6. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 15:05:28

    Woot!

    Reply

  7. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 21:10:58

    You won my giveaway. I need your address!! PLZ!!!!

    Reply

  8. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 01:14:30

    that’s awesome, congratulations!! i totally understand, getting back out there is the best feeling in the world! you’re gonna do awesome in your 10ks!

    Reply

  9. Molly
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 10:45:31

    ooooo, I would have eaten all that couscous too! Nice job with the four miles!

    Reply

  10. hbobier
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 14:21:05

    Woop! Great job on your run. And for the record, four miles equals unlimited couscous. Not sure if you knew that. 🙂

    Reply

  11. FruitFly
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 19:23:42

    Running in Central Park — that’s something I’ve put on my Bucket List. I picture being like Charlotte in Sex and the City – just being feminine and running and smiling! What a fun time you must have had!!
    ~RR

    Reply

  12. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 08:34:48

    Knee injuries/injuries are tough! I have been suffering from a knee injury as well and it is very frustrated. Keep up the good work and great job on your run! PS-the couscous looks yummy!

    Reply

  13. android apps
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:53

    Milestones Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about Milestones Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Schaad Shane

    Reply

  14. Cari Wandrie
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 12:34:32

    Hair loss drugs may cause permanent sexual dysfunction, new study The latest men's health scare comes… #Study

    Reply

Leave a Reply

