Turning a negative into a positive

Yesterday I got in another double day workout. Yep! 2.5 miles run in the morning, eliptical after work. I’m trying to raise my mileage even by just a bit each time and so far so good. My time is slower than before, but I really could care less about the time right now. I’m also thinking about ordering a short knee brace like Caitlin wears. The one I got from PT is too high up on my thigh and so uncomfortable so we’ll see how thi new one goes. I got back from workout No. 2 and put together a “what do i have in the kitchen” meal. I’m proud to say I have eaten every lunch and dinner this week (starting tues) from something I made and not out! With just 4 ingredients, my tum was satisfied.

Sauteed spinach, white beans in tomato sauce and put it over whole wheat pasta. After overloading on veggies for 2 days the belly was happy with some carbs.

So today started pretty poorly. Just a bad morning. But my friend and I had planned earlier in the week to try Bikram. I’ve done it once, but recently bought an unlimited monthly pass on Living Social Deals. Great website. I finally activated it and we went to the 5:30 class. My first mistake was not eating very much today. I found the class super hard and thought I was going to pass out. It is 100+ degrees in there. I did my best to keep up and was literally dripping and sweating so much I couldn’t stretch because I couldn’t keep a grip on my dripping limbs. Once it was over we headed out into the cooler air and felt great! I tried to take a pic but clearly it didn’t go so well.

We definitely want to go back soon, maybe even Sunday and Monday. That’s the plan for now. I thought it would make me exhausted, but I’m energized!

Have you ever done Bikram?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel @ Fit Fun and Fabulous
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 21:26:11

    I’ve done bikram a few times a long time ago and have been wanting to try it again. I bet it would feel AWESOME in the winter to sweat it out and then step out into the cool air afterwards.

    Reply

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 09:23:57

    I love white beans with pasta – they have sort of a creamy texture that goes well with pasta (in my opinion). Good job increasing the mileage. Slow increases are probably smart!

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 16:21:07

    I’ve done a lot of hot power yoga, but never Bikram. I like the hot power classes because they are all so different. The instructors all have their own style.

    Nice job on the runs. I think it’s really smart to take it slow to avoid injury.

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 17:11:42

    I loooove Bikram! I just started doing it a few months ago but you are right – it is HOT in there. 105*! But, once I did it a few times I kind of adjusted to the heat and started enjoying it. Give it another go!

    Reply

  5. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 23:15:56

    bikram is the only type of yoga i’ve done, actually. it’s CRAZY how much you sweat!!! i swear, every inch of me was dripping, my clothes were soaked!! (too much info?) super good times though. hope you’re having a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Lisa
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 16:28:31

    I’ve been thinking I need to get one of those leg bands for my knee too. Let us know how you like it!

    Reply

  7. Kristy
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 11:52:06

    I’ve been wanting to try bikram. Last weekend when I rode 15miles on my bike I had the same issue with not fueling enough prior. Learning lessons right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  8. Justine
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 14:33:32

    I have never done Bikram, but I would love to! One of my friends is a yoga instructor and she got into the habit of keeping the A/C off during sessions which made for a slightly steamy workout, but still no Bikram.

    Reply

  9. tricia
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 20:50:18

    great job on the double workout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

