This time I mean it

Summer’s over already? Really? I made it back to NYC safe and sound and yesterday enjoyed a last day of vacation. My friend and I went for a little jog/run along the east river and then I went grocery shopping and prepared this week’s meals. I’m trying out a new method where I bring a bunch of small, healthy things, and eat more often throughout the day. This also makes me tupperware girl.

What you see here is some chopped cucumber, red pepper slices, a plum, banana, carrots, oatmeal, corn/tomato salad and 3 tofu sticks. I roasted up tofu last night using my new tofu press and Beth’s recipe here.

The press is a bit of a contraption, but it definitely gets out the moisture.


Now if you look closely to the next photo, you’ll see the water.

After, I cut the tofu into sticks and marinated in soy, honey and garlic.

Roasted for about 10 minutes on each side and here they are.

I may have forgotten they were in the oven. I had 3 today though, and they were pretty good re-heated.

This morning I managed to run 2 miles before work. The first mile was with my knee brace but I find it’s much more tiring and hard with it on, so I took it off for the second. I decided if I have any shot at running a 6-miler Oct. 3 I better start trying to train. I’m also planning to hit the eliptical after work for a nice double day workout. It must be done.

How was your long weekend?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 15:14:30

    It’s obnoxious how much tupperware I carry around with me. I’m surprised they haven’t giving me a limit of shelf space in the breakroom… ha ha

    Reply

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 16:53:02

    You should see the bag o’ food I take in to work each day too. I keep a bag in the fridge just to put all of my stuff in. I need to make up some tofu just for lunches. I typically only make it just for dinner and never have extras.

    Reply

  3. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 19:44:25

    that tofu press looks intense!

    glad to hear you were able to run a little bit. I used to have really bad knees before I had surgery in high school and I hated wearing knee braces- they were so cumbersome! You signed up for the Gov’s Island race, right?! We’ll definitely have to meet up there!

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 20:23:41

    I’m the tupperware girl, too! I haul it all in my Lulu bag every day!
    I haven’t been able to get into tofu…….not so sure about that stuff….. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Becky
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 20:37:40

    The tofu press is such a nifty gadget. If I had extra storage, I’d get one.

    Reply

  6. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 20:52:04

    i kept hearing about tofu press but i had no idea what it was! (i know, i live under a rock.) congrats on your run! are you still using that tape?

    Reply

  7. hbobier
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:24:42

    I stockpile tupperware at work. As in I’ll bring food to work in it and forget to bring it home. The solution? Buy more tupperware…haha.

    My weekend was pretty good. Went to the Minnesota State Fair, watched the Hoarders marathon, it was a great time.

    Also, your double workout day makes you a total badass. Just saying.

    Reply

  8. amanda
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:07:18

    i stumbled across your blog through another blog and thought i’d pop in and say hello. since you’re living in my favorite city of new york and all. and you’re a writer. two of my aspirations in life. the big apple and making a break into writing. {you’re living the dream, girl!} oh, and also-you’re a 90210 and dawsons creek lover. holla to that!

    that tofu maker is some serious stuff. tofu scares the heck out of me!

    Reply

  9. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:48:51

    hey Robyn! just wanted to let you know i passed on a blog award to you! you can check it out on my recent post 🙂

    Reply

  10. FruitFly
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 19:37:33

    I’ve never had tofu before, which is odd considering I’ve been a vegetarian for half of my life. Anyway – this totally fascinated me! I couldn’t stop staring at the pictures. If I was seeing it in person I’d totally have to poke it to see what it feels like!
    ~RR

    Reply

Leave a Reply

