Last day in the OC

Don’t you hate when your vacation comes to an end, but you’re not quite ready for it to be over. At least I fly tomorrow and have Monday to relax, which I totally planned for that reason. On Wed my mom and I took Cody to the little dog park so that he could play while I ran on a trail they have nearby. As soon as I took off from one end, Cody and all the dogs ran alongside in the park and followed me until they couldn’t go any more. I had a tough time during the first mile, my lungs were not strong at all and it was a small but steady uphill climb. I reached a mile, walked .2 before running again. I ended up doing 2.5 miles run, with the .5 walked.

Thursday I spent the day in LA doing work and yesterday was spent sleeping on and off from the exhaustion of Thursday.

This morning started off with a crack of dawn coffee (I cannot sleep late) and homemade matzoh brei. My mom makes the best eggs, but matzoh brei is a specialty. Have you ever heard of it? It’s basically matzoh with egg and jelly on the side. Everyone makes it differently depending on what you grew up with. Yum!

A little bit later I got the energy to try another run. Both knees were in sheer pain by the end of Thursday and standing a lot, which I don’t think should be normal for a 27-year-old. Why am I so frail?? I also got the brilliant idea to see if Cody, my parents’ 75lb golden doodle could come. My parents don’t run so I tested him out on the block. After some jumping fits and me stopping and telling him to sit (he’s very well trained, pees and poops on command people), I went for it. He was great! My parents’ house has a very hilly loop but Cody got me to the top. Towards the end I finally was able to keep up with him. We did about a mile and a half together, and by the end we were tired.

He’s worn out.

By the way, my parents also have 2 cats (I’m allergic so I don’t touch them). They’re ‘SC fans too.

Later we all headed to Laguna to walk the boardwalk.

Clearly I’m obsessed. Tonight the parents and I are going out to dinner, then I fly back in the AM.

How’s your holiday weekend?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen Ross
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 21:13:57

    We will ALL miss you. (Especially Cody ) Dad and I really need to run (ok Walk) with him more often.

    Reply

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 22:49:34

    What a cute pup! Yep, hate it when vacations end. Every day should be a vacation I personally believe. Sorry to hear about the knees – perhaps some strength training?? Take care!

    Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 22:59:04

    Cody’s so cute! Sounds like you are having a lot of fun!

    (Boo Trojans.)

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 07:35:25

    What an adorable pup/running buddy!

    Reply

  5. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 09:09:25

    So fun that you could run with your parent’s puppy! I am sorry you are having knee pain..did you try to ice your knee’s after the run? I am glad you are having a good vacation!

    Reply

  6. Beth
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 11:46:06

    That’s so cute you took the dog for a run! That’s one of the reasons I wish I had a dog… I think it would be SO fun to run with one!!

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 17:26:43

    Cute pup! Sounds like you’re having a great time. It’s not so exciting here in Cleveland! 🙂

    Reply

  8. nova 2 hd apk
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:58

    Last day in the OC Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Last day in the OC Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Lawrence Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

