Saturday’s beach run

Friday I went down to my shore house after work since I knew Saturday was supposed to be beautiful. I woke up Sat at 7 and knew that I wanted to try and go for a run. The weather was perfect, not too hot, but soooo sunny. I forgot to pack a hat which was a total fail. I was all taped up with my hot pink tape ready to go. On Friday at the chiro/PT place I asked if he should tape me up since I had a far walk from the train station. No way was I going to tell them I was planning on running. They just don’t get that saying I should do absolutely no exercise doesn’t work for me. So here I am ready to go.

You’re jealous.

I set out to run 3 miles along the boardwalk on the beach. About 1/2 mile in the knee started hurting but then the pain dissipated as I settled into the pace. Towards the end I had a killer headache, probably due to the squinting. Passing all the other runners, walkers, bikers I was in my element although there was definitely a struggle that made me think, didn’t I used to enjoy this? Then I remembered that it was the feeling I get when I’m done, not necessarily as I’m running, that I enjoy.

The first mile was 10:42, the second was 11:06, the third 10:47, finishing the 3 in 32:35. Not complaining.

I just cannot get the full body shot like TMB does.

After the run, I sat on the porch to check some email, catch up on some blogs. I just discovered I can get Internet down at the shore, now that the summer is over.

And then it was time to hit the beach. Look what I found while reading my Fitness magazine.

Caitlin is everywhere these days!

The beach was perfect.

Now I’m back in the city and very excited about 2 other things I will tell you all more about when I try them!

Got this to review and won these

from Pancakes N Pajamas!

How was your weekend? I’m going to Cali on Tues for a few days of vacay in the OC!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 11:21:09

    great job on your run. But next time remember the hat. 😉

    Reply

  2. abbi
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:00:26

    Glad you were able to get your run in…looks like a great weekend!

    Reply

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:47:47

    Good job with the run girl. Glad the knee pain went away. Enjoy your vacay!

    Reply

  4. Diana
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 17:29:15

    Check it out… I gave you award on my blog! Have a great week!

    Great job on the run!!! I need a trip to the beach!

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 19:31:56

    Great job on your run! What a beautiful place to run!

    Oh, and I’m totally jealous of your upcoming vaca…….. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Samantha @ Health, Happiness and Skinny Jeans
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 20:01:48

    Great run!

    And I can’t believe OB was in another magazine! I heard its in Allure too and I saw it in Glamour. So amazing

    Reply

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 00:15:27

    7am on a saturday, you are hard-core!! glad the knee held up, guess the tape is working, hey?

    have an awesome time in Cali! take lots of pictures 🙂

    Reply

  8. Lindsay
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 07:28:56

    I’m so glad you got the bars! Enjoy them.

    Great job on the run. Woot Woot for no knee pain. Enjoy your vacay!

    Reply

  9. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 08:18:56

    Looks like you had a nice run! I HATE knee pain, but I hope your knee is healing. I hope you enjoyed your time at the beach!

    Reply

  10. hbobier
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 09:40:50

    I’m so glad to hear you were able to start running again! Hopefully this is a start to longer runs to come. 🙂

    Have a fantastic time in Cali!

    Reply

  11. Becky
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 17:19:30

    I’m glad that you had a good run. Keep taking care of that knee!

    I wish I had one more day at the beach. It’s sooo relaxing!

    Reply

  12. Jean@RoastedRootsandPumpkinSpice
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 09:09:11

    Internet at the beach?!? That’s awesome! Where is your shore house located?

    Hope you have a great time in Cali!

    Reply

  13. Tina
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 12:25:25

    Caitlin really is everywhere these days, huh? She’s awesome!

    And I have to say I love the feeling after a good workout too. Nothing compares.

    Reply

  14. Fit Chick in the City
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 14:01:34

    Have a great vacation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

