Jazzing up a boring meal

Last night I hit the gym as planned, and focused on weights. I remembered some of the exercises I’ve done in total body conditioning and was able to do a solid 30 min. That’s a lot for me to spend on strength training. For dinskies, I heated up a Healthy Choice tomato basil soup. It’s pretty good, but I always forget how strong the basil is in this kind. I also had a Smart Ones frozen spaghetti primavera. In order to make it a little bit more filling, I added in the 1/4 block of tofu I had left. It blends perfectly with the sauce and veggies. Here’s a pic, although it’s very dark.

Overall a pretty good pantry/freezer meal. I also snacked on some dried mango and cereal (not together). I always need something to eat in bed while watching TV. It’s a problem, but at least I’m not housing down chocolate.

Today is off to a meh start. It’s bagel Fridays in our office and I felt like biting the bullet and going all out with a whole wheat bagel (partially scooped out), one side with lox cream cheese, the other with veggie. Sometimes you gotta kick Chobani to the curb and go full force. Not sure I’ll make it to the gym since I have the chiropracter/PT at lunch. I do plan to try to go for a longer, maybe 3 or 4 mile run this weekend.

What do you have planned?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 10:57:11

    I love bagels! Especially with peanut butter on it. YUM! Have fun on your run this weekend!

    Reply

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 11:05:48

    Hope you get the run in today and that the day picks up for you. Fridays should never start off as “meh” 😉 Today is a rest day for me and the hubs and I are going out to dinner (a rarity). Have a great day!

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 11:40:50

    Bagel Friday!?!?! I wish we had something like that here- the office environment is more of a “everyone for themselves”. I blame the fact that it’s mostly male…

    Reply

  4. hbobier
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 12:10:18

    Bagels are my weakness. I can’t buy them, because I’ll eat way too many throughout the day. A 300 calorie bagel is not an appropriate snack.

    This weekend I’m going to my hometown because a friend from high school is getting married. Yikes. But I’m with you, hopefully I can get a good run in at some point, too!

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 13:34:49

    I started my day with a 4 mile walk. my daughter, who has been very ill, was scheduled for oral surgery today. Everyone thought it was a good idea since she’s already on meds to help in case of infection or tummy trouble. So…today I’m on Mom duty AGAIN.

    Reply

  6. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 17:21:32

    Good luck on your run!

    Reply

  7. Becky
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 19:42:15

    Hope that PT/chiropractor team work their magic and you get a great run in this weekend!

    I am going to cheer for my mom in her first 5K tomorrow. It will probably kill me to watch a race, but I am super excited – probably more than her!

    Reply

  8. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 09:38:21

    i’m not much into strength training either, the most i do is a 20 minute ab circuit. (must work on that.) good luck on your run this weekend!
    (p.s. are New York bagels as good as they say they are? 🙂 )

    Reply

  9. Shelby Stidham
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 13:50:36

    I have a long bike ride planned, as well as a few hours on the elliptical!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

