5:30 wakeup fail

Sometimes a workout just isn’t meant to be. That’s what happened last night and this morning. I was supposed to have Fitrition in Central Park yesterday after work. I was really looking forward to a nice butt-whooping by Leanne. But due to the incessant rain it was cancelled. So instead I headed to the gym. Did 30 minutes on the eliptical and was a sweaty mess. Usually that machine doesn’t do that to me so I was pleasantly surprised. Next I ran a half mile on the treadmill, before stretching and heading home to my polenta casserole leftovers.

This morning I was planning to take my 6:15am total body conditioning, but there was no way it was happening. I woke up a few minutes before 5:30 and reset the alarm to 7. I’m bummed because I like weights classes since I tend to not do weight training on my own, or for more than 10 minutes. But I’ll still hit the gym after work like my plan for the week says. Tonight’s din? WW frozen meal is calling my name. Probably because I devoured the rest of my polenta πŸ™‚

Do you get disappointed when a workout is cancelled or you sleep through it?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 11:33:39

    I know myself so sleeping through my morning workouts happens a lot… This morning I actually woke up on time, but I just took my time getting ready instead of going for a run. It felt good!

    Reply

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 11:34:37

    Sometimes sleep is far more important. That’s how it’s been for me this week.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 11:48:42

    I get more disappointed when a workout is cancelled, like when the running group doesn’t meet because of thundershowers than when I skip it to sleep in. When I sleep in, I always have the rest of the day to squeeze something in. But when the run group doesn’t happen in the evening, it’s gone for good for that day

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 11:50:02

    I get super disappointed when I sleep through a workout! But, I am trying to not beat myself up so much about it, and just move on to the next. I figure if I want to sleep, my body must need it!

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 12:24:54

    Seriously- what is with all the rain you kids are getting in that general direction? It’s nuts.

    Yeah, I get really frustrated with myself when I sleep in after planning an AM workout. Because I know I could have just sucked it up and gone and been happy after I did. I don’t experience guilt so much, but frustration all day that I could have already gotten my workout in and that I still have to go when I was planning to do other things in the evening… I’ve done it many times!

    Reply

  6. lisa @ early morning run
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 12:33:31

    I’m so glad it’s finally stopped raining and the sun is out again! Sorry you missed your workout this morning, but your body must have needed the extra sleep.

    I bought polenta at Trader Joe’s this morning so I’m going to check out your recipe!

    Reply

  7. DiningAndDishing
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 14:54:18

    I’m good at not sleeping through work-outs for the most part but I hate when one gets cancelled because of circumstances beyond my control! Good for you for making it to the gym even though your plan A didn’t work out :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

  8. Shelby
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 15:09:32

    Robyn, I just LOLed at the title of the post! This happens to me more frequently than I’d like to admit! And I get beyond disappointed!

    I think you and I have a lot in common! I am also a wanna be writer and runner πŸ™‚

    Love your blog!

    Reply

  9. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 15:55:09

    I agree I get upset when I miss a weight lifting class because it is really hard for me to weight lift on my own. Good job on going to the gym anyway!!

    Reply

  10. Becky
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 16:23:01

    I’m morning exerciser, so when I push it to the afternoon, I feel like it haunts me all day. Even though I enjoy working out, I’d rather get an energy boost in the morning than lace ’em up after a long day. I will skip AM workouts if I want to go to a night class or meet a buddy though. That’s fun!

    Reply

  11. FruitFly
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 19:50:50

    While I’m sleeping through it and turning off the alarm for good … I feel great! THEN when I get up a little while later I end up feeling guilty all day. 😦

    Reply

  12. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 22:50:39

    oh yes, i definitely need my exercise to feel normal. but i wouldn’t worry about sleeping in one day, you probably needed it. rest is an important part of the training process (so they tell me.) sleep is good! giving your muscles time to repair is good! i bet your next workout will be even better because of it πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Mrs. Vitamin Packs
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 23:02:03

    I hate when my classes get canceled! I remember I went to a spinning class early on a Saturday morning (that’s determination) and the teacher didn’t show up, I was so upset! Sorry that you missed your workouts, but I’m glad to see that you burned those calories either way πŸ˜‰ thanks for sharing and motivating others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

