Left-sided

6:15 am Total Body Conditioning class? Check! A hearty bowl of oats with a spoonful of PB?

Obvs a check.

Yesterday, I had an interesting session with my chiropractor. Turns out the right side of my body hates me. We all know my right knee issue. Well I was laying on my stomach and he tried to touch my heels to my butt. Left side? No prob. Right side? Not so much. Add super tight quad to my list. Later on he asked me if I ever had any ankle problems (which I haven’t). He went to “adjust” aka crack the left foot and it went. The right? Totally locked. He couldn’t adjust my ankle. So basically my hips constantly fall out of allignment leading to my left leg being shorter than the right. My right quad is tight, the right knee is constantly achy and the right ankle is locked. Seriously?

Last night I cooked up a fabulous dish, if I do say so myself. After realizing that I usually use a baking dish and not a sheet, I improvised and turned it into a polenta casserole. Total hit to my tastebuds. I started by throwing in a bit of EVOO and minced garlic in the pan.

Next saute 3 chopped carrots for about 7 minutes, then add the zucchini. I used 2.

Next up I added baby bello mushrooms. Make sure you wipe them with a damp paper towel first.

Next up I added 2 cups of marinara sauce. I could use a whole jar, I love it so much. Also threw in frozen peas.

Let that simmer while the oven preheats to 350 and you slice up already cooked polenta that comes in a tube. This is definitely a speedy cook’s best friend.

I ended up switching over to a baking dish and made a casserole/lasagna looking thing. It ended up being genius.

Baked for about 20 minutes.

Enjoy! 1 serving (a quarter of the dish) is only 4 WW points.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lindsey @ Eat, Read, Run
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:08:40

    Hello there neighbor! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your dinner last night looks delish. I have yet to try cooking with polenta, but it’s really good to know there’s a quick and easy polenta to use.

    I love the name of your blog! I used to be a journalist back in my younger years, but moved to the communications side of the biz.

    We should definitely go for a run together someday. Also – I think a bloggie brunch meet-up at the Yorkville Creperie is in order! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Keri
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:09:29

    Good for you going to an early class! I love that feeling of getting it out of the way before work…

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:14:53

    Anything with zucchini and mushrooms is a win in my book… lol.

    Sorry to hear about your right side being so damn difficult! Ah the life of a runner…

    Reply

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:21:00

    Dinner looks great and isn’t it fun to brag sometimes? 😉 sorry to hear about the right side being so locked up. That really stinks. It’s amazing how we can get out of balance like that.

    Reply

  5. abbi
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:38:35

    Might have to try that recipe. I always think I’ll like polenta but anything I ever make is awful – maybe I need to stop trying to make my own polenta and buy the stuff in the tube!

    Reply

  6. Ginny
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:51:04

    I’ve been wanting to try the Polenta in the tube for awhile now… I’ll definitely pick some up next time I’m in Wegman’s!

    Reply

  7. NYCRunnerGirl
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:26:38

    Yum, that looks good! I have never made anything with polenta before, I’m adding it to my list!

    Reply

  8. Kenzie (Healthy Purpose)
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:34:26

    i want to go to a chiropractor, but Im scared they’ll give me news like yours! hope you work through it!!

    Reply

  9. Teamarcia
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:37:44

    According to my chiro I too am all wonky like that so don’t feel bad…there’s hope! Your dinner looks delish!

    Reply

  10. Beth
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:45:28

    Wow that looks awesome! You loaded up the veggies – totally my style. 🙂

    Reply

  11. DiningAndDishing
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 12:31:52

    Love that polenta casserole idea! I bought a tube of polenta like that and it sat for ages because I didn’t know what to do with it. Thanks for sharing :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

  12. Stacey (The Habit of Healthy)
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 15:10:15

    Blimey, you were at the gym at 6:15am? I was still in bed!! Your dinner looks really good. I love big bowls of veggies. Tasty and filling but easy on the waistline!

    Reply

  13. Becky
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 18:59:30

    Dinner looks great! I have never tried polenta. I feel like I wouldn’t know what to do with it, but this could be an option!

    My cousin (a runner) recently had lots of hip pain. She was checked out and had alignment issues, too. She’s been getting trigger point massage from a sports massage therapist and its helped tremendously. Hopefully you can get the tightness worked out soon.

    Reply

  14. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 23:56:37

    it’s funny what those chiros find out. you go in thinking it’s one thing, turns out to be something completely different. hope your allignment gets solved real soon!

    (p.s. jealous of your polenta in a tube. i enjoy cooking with as little actual cooking as possible 🙂 )

    Reply

  15. Lindsay
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 09:21:12

    I hope they get your hips in line for you. I’m lovin all of the chunky veggies goin on here.

    Reply

  16. Heather
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 10:02:51

    Zucchini and garlic together is my favorite!

    Good job getting up for the gym that early! Impressive…… 🙂

    Reply

  17. Jean@RoastedRootsandPumpkinSpice
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 11:33:19

    I also have a problem with the right side of my body. My right calf always cramps up so I need to stretch it out constantly. It’s gotten better over the years though, so maybe it’ll go away one day.

    Your polenta casserole sounds delicious! I love layered dishes like this. So many great tastes in one bite!

    Reply

  18. Jennifer
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 21:05:27

    I’m sorry the right side of your body hates you! LOL You crack me up. I’m sure your stomach LOVES you though after that delish meal! 🙂

    Reply

  19. Trackback: 5:30 wakeup fail « Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner

Leave a Reply

