Not much to say

This week has been so busy workwise that I’ve been neglecting my blog and my workouts. But this weekend I plan to take it easy and get back on track. I didn’t even have time to buy groceries this week! On Monday I went to the chiro as I mentioned and he had massaged out my piriformis muscle. I was feeling nagging pain and he said it’s common in runners. I said, so what do they do? And he said, have their chiropracters work it out. So how do all of you that don’t see a million doctors a week like myself stay injury-free? Now I’m hurting on the left side and wondering if I should just try to massage it out myself. Not in public as it will look like I’m giving my own butt a deep massage and I don’t want strange looks.

This weekend I plan to do a short, slow run and also hit the gym. And lots of cleaning is in order as well. What do you all have planned?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 10:57:38

    I have severe problems with my piriformis muscle too and have yet to figure out how to correct it. It aggravates my sciatic nerve and causes severe pain. I try rolling or massaging the area with a tennis ball. Hope you have a great weekend.

    Reply

  2. Courtney
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 11:06:27

    I plan to relax and get a couple good workouts in. I hope you have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 11:13:24

    I’m going to the beach tomorrow to have a crab feast!!!! I’m so excited.

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 13:33:04

    Stretching. The key is stretching.

    Reply

  5. Ginny
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 13:40:58

    I have 2 running buddies that have suffered from periformis muscle pain… with both of them it flares up, gets better, and then returns. One had immediate relief from acupuncture. The other is considering trying acupuncture now. Hope you find something that works for you πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. FruitFly
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 18:58:17

    I plan to finally get in a run that is 3 miles or longer. … and to get up and do that BEFORE it gets scorching hot outside.
    AND I’m throwing a Jimmy Buffett inspired party. Hopefully the effects of that won’t hinder the morning-after running!

    Reply

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 20:20:57

    haha….i’ve been known to massage various body parts in public, butt included. not saying it’s a GOOD thing, just sayin – it happens πŸ™‚

    this weekend, might go to an organic expo…that’s about it! hope your run is a good one πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 22:03:40

    I hear ya on the busy week. Dang. Yeah I’m hoping for some R&R this weekend too.

    P.S. There are massage tools you can buy to use at home. Check out “Trigger Point” they sell foam rollers and all kinds of massage tools.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

