Giveaway winner and pink kinesio tape

First things first, the winner of the Chobani giveaway is:

Congrats, Tracey at Veggies, Cakes and Cocktails! Email me (robyneross@gmail.com) your address so Chobani can send you your winnings.

So recovering from the 5k on Sunday hasn’t been that great. The knee has been super sore, but it didn’t help I was on my feet a lot of Sunday and yesterday. I’ve been seeing a chiropractor (I guess this is my 3rd attempt at a new treatment) and he’s been helping a lot with my body in general. It feels good to get an adjustment, let me tell you. But one interesting thing is that my left leg is shorter than the right. It seems to be because of my hip alignment because every time he adjusts the hip area, they become even again. So now we just have to keep them even so that there’s no so much pressure on my right side! The practice also has a physical therapist who wants to combine treatment with the chiro, but I’m hesitant because I’m just over trying to get my knee back to normal. And the office is 2 avenues from my office, which is more of a hike than I’d like. The PT decided to put some kinesio tape on it. Has anyone ever used this? It’s supposed to give support and stability to your joints and muscles without affecting circulation and range of motion. I think it was just a cruel joke that I had to go out in public with a dress and pink tape.

Yeah, I took a cab.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 08:50:09

    I love kinesio tape (KTtape is the kind I like). I used it for my shin splints and ankles. Its good stuff 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ginny
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:07:29

    I don’t know… the pink kind of makes a statement — “I’m hardcore, but still girly at heart!”

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:12:28

    Kinesio tape blows my mind. I’ve never tried it but want to just because I have no idea how it works!

    Reply

  4. Beth @ Beth's Journey to Thin
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:20:24

    I’ve never tried that tape before but have seen it a lot. I’ll be curious to hear your report on how it works!

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:32:30

    I haven’t used tape, but I’ve seen a PT for my knee and it helped a lot. Good luck with that!

    Reply

  6. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:34:24

    I’ve never used the kinesio tape but am intrigued by it. Sorry your knee is sore post race. Hope it feels better soon!

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 12:17:35

    I’ve never used the Kinesio tape, but I’m so intrigued! I’ve always wondered if it actually would help or not. For your case, I hope it does!!

    Reply

  8. Jennifer
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 22:34:58

    Sorry your knee is giving you a hard time! I have never used Kinesio tape.

    Reply

  9. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 00:17:00

    oh man, sorry to hear about your knee. my left leg is shorter than my right too. actually, i had the exact same experience. i’d get an adjustment, and then i’d be even – then it would go back to it’s original placement. (frusterating as ever!!) i’ve never tried kinesio tape, hopefully that works for you! 🙂

    Reply

  10. 3:59:59. Bitches
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:11:39

    I had some knee trouble flare up right before my last marathon in Feb and used the KTTape – the same taping pattern you’re rocking in the pic above – starting a week or ten days before the race. I don’t know how much of it is mental, but it provided the support (physical or otherwise) to finish pain-free. That said, the black tape makes the race pics look like I have a bionic leg…

    Reply

  11. Becky
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:06:16

    Sorry that the 5K is hurting your knee. That tape is so interesting. I’ve never tried it. Hope it helps with the soreness.

    Reply

  12. Nancy
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 16:28:29

    I see SO many people wearing that Kinseo tape at races (tri’s mostly), and I gotta wonder – but it must work, right?

    Anyway! Just found your blog and I heart it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

