I’m on a roll

Made another 5:45am wakeup my bitch. Got to the gym in time to run a half mile (slow pace I promise) before hitting up total body conditioning. The thing about this class (as with most), it varies so much by instructor. Today I really enjoyed it though, and I can’t get over how sore I still am from my Tuesday workout of eliptical and sit-ups! And I’ll soon be adding in bikram yoga to the mix. If you all remember, I took it one time. Well Living Social Deals (do you subscribe? you should!) had a deal yesterday for an unlimited month at the Bikram studio in Union Square. Pretty sweet deal for $45 when most monthly class membership would be double that. My co-worker and I signed up, and I’m excited, but nervous to start.

Another update…I have my first race since the half marathon this weekend. It’s the Asbury Park 5k and I am not going to run the whole thing. I hate to take part in a race I can’t run, but my 2 friends are doing it and I really wanted to do 1 race this summer. This was supposed to be the summer of a million races, and it became the summer of walking. Bleh. So I hope to run the first mile, walk the 2 and also assess along the way how I’m feeling.

Today’s eats:
Honey Chobani yogurt w/ blueberries, followed by a banana. And then there was Chipotle. We have one next to our office and I never go, but today went with 2 co-workers. I got a salad with black beans, salsa, corn, peppers and onions, and guac. Did you know a salad there can reach 700+ calories! I’m hoping mine was on the lower end since I skipped, meat, cheese and sour cream.

It was good, although I now have a headache. Coincidence? Not sure.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 14:23:15

    Good luck with the race this weekend! Glad to hear you’re already planning to take it easy and not run the whole thing. That sounds smart!

    Salad looks great. It is crazy how some have so many calories. It disgusts me when I see people drown their salad in high fat dressing. They might as well eat a huge double cheeseburger!

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 14:37:08

    Good for you for getting up so early! I’m usually impressed with myself if I get up 1-2 times during the week for an early workout… makes the rest of the day so much better!

    Reply

  3. Jocelyn
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 15:30:33

    Great job getting up so early! And yeah for running! 🙂 Glad you are taking it slowly

    Reply

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 15:53:32

    I think skipping the sour cream and cheese cleared you of the 700 mark. 😉

    I’ve never heard of Living Social Deals! I subscribe to Groupon… but I’ll have to check that one out, too!

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 21:38:30

    I agree with Amy, I think you’re good on those calories! Besides, they’re too delicious to pass up! 🙂

    Good luck with your run/walk race, but it’s not a race, this weekend!

    Reply

  6. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 00:17:08

    $45 a month? uh – yeah. sweet deal!! the few times i did yoga, it was $20 a session!

    restaurant salads are crazy, hey? that’s why i stopped ordering them. back in Canada i used to customize them to death (no cheese, no dressing, blahblah) but now i figure if i’m gonna eat out, might as well do it up. (er, to an extent.)

    have fun with your race 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 13:27:44

    5:45 is SO early!!! I’m doing that tomorrow and I’m already dreading it. Good for you going for it!

    I think it’s great you are doing a race even if you can’t run it. Just being out there will be worth it. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Lisa
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 09:51:48

    Enjoy your 5K this weekend!!

    Reply

  9. Jacklyn Johnston
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 16:12:37

    I’m so impressed with how you can wake up early and do that! I hope the race went well this weekend! I can’t wait to read about it…now that I’m actually back to normal life, haha. It’s been a crazy summer but I’ve missed reading your blog and am glad I’m back to it and catching up!

    Reply

  10. allison
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 16:43:56

    Sounds like your Chiptole was a good choice. Watch out for the rice, that is where a lot of calories lie! You can go to their website and find out your calorie count by adding and subtracting ingrediants, like Jimmy John’s. Pretty cool feature, I wish all resturants had that!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

