Soup in the summertime

This morning I headed back to the gym! I set the alarm for 5:30 and headed over for a pretty good workout. 25 min eliptical, 10 on bike, then stretching, and 100 sit-ups. And my arms are sore from yesterday’s total body conditioning class. Have you ever tried a fruition bar?

I saw them on Kallie’s blog Fit and 40 SomethingΒ and so I got one at WF the other day and had it for breakfast today. It was more chewy than I expected, not sure if I liked it enough to buy more. It’s 3 WW points, so the same as Chobani, but is it as filling? We’ll see.

So yesterday’s post left off after my return to running (sorta). After a nice nap (I love random days off), I made a little snack. My friend had brought me Tzaziki spice back from her trip to Greece so I decided to try making some.

I added a little bit of EVOO, dash of balsamic, and plain greek yogurt.

I put some on a plate with sliced cucumber and also some low fat hummus from WF. It has no oil in it, hence low fat, but was sorta spicy. Not sure how I feel about it. Great snack overall, though.

Onto last night’s dinner. Although it’s summer, a recipe for tomato minestrone soup caught my eye in this month’s Rachel Ray. I made it vegetarian and it was stock full of fresh veggies. I started by chopping 1 onion, 2 zucchinis, 2 cloves garlic, 1 carrot, 2 ribs of celery and a bay leaf. Into the soup pot they went with some EVOO. I let it cook for about 8 minutes while stirring here and there.

Love all the colors. Next I added a 32oz box of veggie stock, 1 15 oz can of cannelini beans, and about 15oz of crushed tomato. Once that came to a boil I added 1/4 pound of whole wheat ziti pasta and I also threw in lentils that I had left over in my cabinet. I also added in fresh basil and let it simmer until I was ready to eat. Man was this delicious!

Had to have a glass of wine after slaving over the stove, but I stopped after 1 πŸ™‚

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 10:42:53

    thanks for the blog loving!!!! glad you tried the bars….i like that they are so low in cals but 3 ww points seem a bit high 😦 100 situps? you rock robyn!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 11:27:27

    That soups look fantastic – sounds similar to the mock Olive Garden minestrone soup I make!
    Good for you for getting up so early for the gym – that’s hard to do!

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 14:12:55

    Never tried a Fruition Bar but I’ve seen them around and they look good! I always buy the bars based on what is on sale but I’ll definitely look for those.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:14:44

    I haven’t had that bar yet. I’ll have to pick one up!

    Reply

  5. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:43:28

    I’ve been wanting soup lately too and it’s 100+ out there. Nicely done getting to the gym for an early workout!

    Reply

  6. tanyas at your best
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 20:55:14

    haven’t tired that bar

    Reply

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 06:06:24

    5:30 workout?? you crazy girl!! haha….i WISH i was that dedicated πŸ™‚

    i really want to make minestrone (i need to eat more protein, i thought beans was a good idea) but the husband has very different ideas when it comes to vegetables. (he doesn’t like ’em.) ah, what are you gonna do….. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Fit Chick in the City
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 13:39:36

    I love those bars. I got to try one at last years Healthy Living Summit.

    Reply

  9. android apps
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:53

    Soup in the summertime Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Soup in the summertime Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Yoder Veronica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

