Coincidence or fate?

Today’s date is such an interesting one to me. 2 years ago on August 9th I ran my very first race. It had extra special meaning because it was my newly ex boyfriend’s birthday and it felt so good to be doing something for myself on that day. It was only a 5k, but who knew it would become so much more than that. 2 years later to the exact date, I got on the treadmill for the first time since my injury. It wasn’t planned, it wasn’t on purpose, it just happened. After 10 + weeks of no running (well 1 little run somewhere in the middle there, but outside) I got on that dreaded treadmill. And I ran 1 mile. An 11:50 min mile, but still a fully run mile. I chose the treadmill as opposed to the pavement to put the least amount of pressure on my knee. Man did it feel good to be running. My throat was certainly sore (you know when you’re not use to running and it starts to hurt). I had a little twinges here and there but nothing major. In fact, I felt more annoyance in my left foot on my bad toe that I’m convinced will never grow it’s little toenail back properly ever again. So after not pushing myself too hard, I headed straight for the foam roller. After that was done, I took a total body conditioning class. I knew it would be mostly weights so it shouldn’t affect my knee. The instructor was interesting, sorta annoying, and kept singing and dancing in the microphone, but not in a charming way. I guess that’s what happens when I take a class at 10 am on a Monday (I’m off today).

I got back from the gym literally singing as I made my oatmeal. Runner’s high has hit me already. And it definitely makes me feel better about the gluttonous weekend I had that ended with Chinese food last night. I whipped up 1/2 cup oats, banana, 1 tbsp PB and a drizzle of honey in my new oatmeal bowl (thanks to A Girl and her Mutt). Only suggestion, don’t go and do work while the oats are cooking in the pot. I definitely had a layer stuck to the bottom.

Oh and the new kicks rock so far. It’s funny how my roomate asked me what color they were when I told her I bought new ones. Sneaker color doesn’t even phase me anymore because now it’s all about the type of shoe and how good they are. I used to buy sneaks solely based on looks. Not anymore. They’re so fresh and so clean clean.

Okay, time to finish last night’s Mad Men. I’ll be cooking up some new recipes tonight to share with you all.

PS, I’m totally feeling an end of summer NYC bloggy meetup. Who’s with me?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 13:43:14

    Good for you to know to stretch afterwards. I lecture the participants in my classes about the beauty of stretching all the time!

    Have a great day off!

    Reply

  2. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 16:24:06

    I definitely still fall into the “I buy tennis shoes because they’re cute” phase. And here: http://www.ediblemanhattan.com/ You need to know about that bad boy.

    Great to hear you were able to take a run. Short, but still a step in the right direction! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 16:48:10

    I never even thought about the color thing with sneakers but its so true! I always used to pick shoes based on looks/colors but now its all about running features and support!

    Reply

  4. thehungryscholar
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 17:38:43

    I’m glad I came across your blog. I am also digging all your tv references. I look forward to reading more, becuase I need inspiration to run. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ginny
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 19:42:40

    Just watched the latest Mad Men… it seems to be off to a slow start this season. What did you think about it?

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 20:07:14

    Congrats on your run! That’s an amazing feeling! Those are magic shoes 🙂

    Reply

  7. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 20:42:00

    love that runner’s high! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 22:56:18

    haha…i used to be strongly against white runners so boy, was i disappointed to find 95% of them that color! got over that though, once i realized a) they don’t stay that way, b) everyone’s in the same boat, and c) who cares what they look like if they get the job done! congrats on your run! nothing beats a runner’s high 🙂

    Reply

  9. Melissa
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 23:13:49

    Congrats on the run! Isn’t that cool how it turned out to be the anniversary of your first race!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

