Operation Beautiful and final thoughts on the cleanse

Ironically, the same week I decided to do my 3-day cleanse, Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point and Operation Beautiful is hosting “Change the way you see, not the way you look” week.
I’m sure many of you are already readers of Caitlin’s blogs, but she is amazing. About a year ago she decided to put a post-it note in the gym locker room basically saying “you are beautiful” and it turned into a phenomenon. This morning she was on the Today Show to promote her brand new book “Operation Beautiful.”
While I’ve never left a post-it note of my own, I’ve always been amazed with how many women have really been motivated by Caitlin’s message.  This morning, something hit me. I’m not alone. It doesn’t matter what size you are, so many of us have struggled with the same negative self image. I’ve been dieting for as long as I can remember and over a year ago was probably at my lowest health-wise. I was going through a really bad period (like a year-long period) following a really bad breakup. I haven’t talked about it much on here, but I was not treating my body the way I should be. This fall and especially during the winter, training for my first half marathon really got me to think another way. I had to fuel my body in order to sustain long runs and found that each time I reached a new distance I was so excited and proud of myself. And I wanted to be healthy! That’s why I think it’s been especially hard to have my knee injury. Nothing gives me that feeling like running does. So while I did learn from the cleanse that I can really achieve something I set my mind to and that I can live without that extra snack (or 5) at the end of the night, I also realized I never feel good when I’m doing them. I read that some people say they have more energy than ever on a cleanse, but not me. The headaches sucked and I was so tired I went to bed even earlier than my usually granny hour. So while I’m sure I’ll still be upset here and there that I haven’t lost the weight I want to, or that my ass just won’t shrink, Caitlin really inspired me this morning to try to end the Fat talk, the negative talk, and believe that yes, I have a big butt and I’ll never be the size I want to be, but I’m still beautiful, because I’m me. And I really will try to remember that the next time I feel down.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 10:56:56

    We must be long lost twins or something. I started running a couple months after a really hard break up and I didn’t take care of myself for a while. I had a lot of self esteem issues. Running kind of saved me and made me feel better about myself. When I re-injured my knee I really was so frustrated and crushed. Glad you are inspired to stop the negative talk! You’re knee WILL get better. Not as soon as you’d like, but it will!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Operation Beautiful
  3. rc1001
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 13:12:51

    Awesome post!!

    Reply

  4. Marilyn @ Lipgloss and Spandex
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 14:47:53

    Training for something definitely is a good way to stay motivated and appreciate your body! A cleanse wouldn’t work for me either–I tried the cabbage soup diet for half a day and was about to lose my mind. Real food works best for my body too!

    Reply

  5. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 15:46:57

    I think most of us will never feel like our bodies are perfect; there will always be something we wish we could change. But if we work at it, we can reach a point where that longing to be slightly different physically isn’t very strong, certainly not strong enough to ruin an otherwise wonderful day. Great perspective! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Eileen Ross
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 17:13:57

    YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!

    Reply

  7. Becky
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 18:19:18

    I’m so glad you came to this conclusion! Your body can do so much. It’s strong and healthy. That makes you beautiful.

    Reply

  8. fitandfortysomething
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 12:19:11

    you are beautiful and strong girl….forget the scale and focus on how you feel. now i know it has been hard without running but again it is a blip in time in the whole skeem of things. you will get healthy and come back-trust me!

    Reply

  9. kettlebell swing for women
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:21:51

    Looks like an amazing trip (even if it was for work). WTG on all the great running. Loved the photos!

    Reply

  10. android apps
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:52

    Operation Beautiful and final thoughts on the cleanse Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are wonderful! Thanks! your article about Operation Beautiful and final thoughts on the cleanse Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Schaad Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

