Raw Cooler Cleanse Day 1

For those unaware, today I started Day 1 of 3 on the Cooler Cleanse. I’ve done Blueprint in the past, but wanted to try this slightly cheaper alternative and also take advantage of the raw food option they offer. I swore I’d never do a full-on juice cleanse ever again. Why cleanse? For me I like it as a jump start. Although I’ve been eating well the last few weeks, I’m not thrilled with my success. I’m looking at this as another way to aid the process. The raw cooler let’s you pick and choose the juices you want. It’s 2 juices a day, a snack, a cold soup and an “entree.”

Sunday I picked up my coolers. Here’s what the first day looks like.

 I chose the Essential Green as my No. 1 juice for all three days. I hate it, but it’s really the point of doing it since it’s the one that digs everything up and helps eliminate it. Gross, I know. Here are the deets on the Green: 
Ingredients: cucumber, celery, parsley, spinach, kale, dandelion greens,
watercress, pear, lemon, ginger
Benefits: dark green vegetables contain a rainbow of essential vitamins and minerals essential for the cleansing functions of the kidneys and liver. Dark, leafy greens also give the system loads of water-soluble fiber to sweep toxins out. These greens are highly alkalinizing to your cells—this counters the damage done by the corrosive acidic waste products from meat, sugar, dairy and other common foods.

Thoughts on green juice?

I know, I know, I preach about the amazingness that is the Green Monster. But this is no green monster and I will always struggle with it.

Juice No. 2 I had at about 11am. It was pure Fiji Apple. YUM.

At 1pm I’m feeling OK, just a little groggy from no caffeine and that at any time I may run to the bathroom. The stomach doesn’t hurt, but with the green juice you never know. Had the snack of cauliflower couscous. Ingredients:  cauliflower, sun-dried tomatoes, carrot, parsley, lemon, dates, cilantro, oregano, hemp seeds, coriander seed, garlic, cold-pressed EVOO, black pepper, sea salt.

Tasted pretty good. Was expecting to like it. Hard to explain the taste, but like a nutty almost cinnamon-like cous cous.

2:48pm: Trying to hold out until 4 for the “soup.” Also my cheeks are burning hot right now, not sure why.

Ok, Butternut Sqush soup time. Ingredients: butternut squash, apple, parsley, avocado, filtered water, ginger, agave, lime, cinnamon, nutmeg, thyme, black pepper, sea salt.

Can. Not. Drink/Eat. This. Yep, not a fan. Had as much as I could muster (and had the apple chunks in it) but left more than half in the container.

When I got home from work I had the entree. I had the sunflower falafel. It was a little bit lacking in presentation.

Ingredients: Sunflowers seeds, walnut, red onion, garlic, tahini, lemon, cold-pressed EVOO, scallion, parsley, coriander seed, cumin, cayenne, cucumber, tomato, romaine, wheat-free tamari, paprika, apple cider vinegar, black pepper, sea salt.

I ate all of the falafel, they were pretty dense and hard to describe the flavor. Didn’t eat anything else there.

Unfortunately, I had to stay up late for work which definitely didn’t help. My head was pounding, I felt like someone was squeezing it together from the sides. Why did I want to do this cleanse again?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 09:19:40

    Oh damn that sounds haaaard. I have no idea why you are doing this to yourself (I actually do get it though). Yuke! Keep it up, I’m sure you will see results 🙂

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 09:54:41

    Ugh… more power to you! Because it sounds rough!

    Goodluck with the next couple of days!

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 11:00:13

    The cleanse sounds pretty intense! I honestly don’t think I could do it. Best of luck on Day Two.

    Reply

  4. Kenzie (Healthy Purpose)
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 12:16:19

    Interesting Program… I’ve never thought of ordering from a company, but I have cleansed and plan to again. You didn’t like the 100% juice fast?

    This seems like a pretty good system with a good schedule for digestion, starting light and getting “heavier” throughout the day.

    Looking forward to reading day two!

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 13:26:37

    Well, that sounds interesting! Matt is on a weird dandellion kick so he often gets it at the farmers market. We added a bit to our salad at dinner last night. It definitely has a strong taste, so I can only imagine what that green shake must taste like! The rest of it all sounds good, so I’m sorry the soup wasn’t! Hopefully today is better. At least it’s only 3 days, right? I really do hope you feel good after this!

    Reply

  6. Ginny
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 15:48:07

    I’m impressed with your giving it a try… good luck!

    Reply

  7. kelli
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 18:47:24

    oohh yuck!! Good luck! You are a brave women!!! 🙂

    Reply

  8. carascravings
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 19:16:08

    Wow!
    Don’t know if I could handle that…
    Power to ya. Hopefully you will feel better soon.

    Reply

  9. Eileen Ross
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 23:03:31

    Are you sure this is good for you?

    Reply

  10. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 20:03:01

    oh wow, good for you! i’m not sure i’d have the willpower to give up caffeine, it would take some strong discipline 🙂

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Raw Cooler Cleanse Day 3 « Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner
  12. android apps
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:53

    Raw Cooler Cleanse Day 1 Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about Raw Cooler Cleanse Day 1 Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Andy Shane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

