A cheesy don’t

The night started off promising. Had some beets and sauteed spinach for dinskies.

Did you know beets turn your pee red? It’s weird. But then I got into the cheese. Guess what. Snacking on 3/4 of a block of cheese makes your tummy hurt. I’m paying for this one today.

Today is my weigh-in day. Lost another 1/2 pound. It is what it is. I knew with each bite of sharp cheddar I’d probably pay for it on the scale today. At least it’s not a gain. So I’ll keep doing what I’m doing and hopefully if I ever run again it’ll come off a little faster. Speaking of running and the knee, here’s the latest on the injury front. I’m getting a second opinion. At PT they found another spot that when he pushes on it makes me jump off the table in pain. He also felt a ridge and thought it might be a bursa (inflamed ball of fluid). Even he said we’ve been working for awhile now and I should be farther along. So I’m going to a different orthopedist next week. If there’s the possibility of an injection to calm down the inflammation then I want it, and also I don’t feel great about how fast the initial guy sent me off to PT without doing much more than an MRI. I’ll keep you updated obvs.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 12:55:21

    A loss is still a loss! Congrats on that!

    And I didnt know beets did that to pee. Clearly I’m not a big beet fan… lol It just always reminds me of Dwight from The Office…

    Reply

  2. Jocelyn
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 13:08:37

    I hope that f they do give you pain meds that it help! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you and you knee!!

    Reply

  3. Ginny
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 13:55:26

    Good luck with that pain. I hope your knee issue is resolved soon. Oh, and peeing red? Soo worth it! I love beets 🙂

    Reply

  4. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 15:03:37

    Cheese and rice woman! Your poor knee! I’ve never heard of a bursa before, but it sounds disgusting.

    Hopefully your second opinion goes well…good luck!!

    Reply

  5. couchpotatoathlete
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 15:13:22

    I used to love to eat 1/2 block of sharp cheddar — it was so delicious. And I would always feel so terrible afterward — whoda thunk?

    Good luck with the second opinion — I hope it is what you want to hear!

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 16:05:38

    That’s my story with ice cream. One bite, then one bowl, then another bowl, then a stomachache. It’s a vicious cycle, but I love it too much to do anything about it!

    Good luck with another opinion. I hope it’s good news 🙂

    Reply

  7. carascravings
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 18:47:13

    I love beets!
    I had a scary incident with the red pee once though…I did not connect the two things in my mind, so I was uber freaked out by the colour until my Mom said she was experiencing the same thing, due to the beets from the previous night…I had a huge sigh of relief that my body was not crashing on me.

    Reply

  8. Kat@bubble gum gym kat
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 19:32:44

    Hell yeah for the loss!!

    Reply

  9. Angela (the diet book junkie)
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 21:44:00

    i haven’t had beets in years but they’re HUGE in Australia. McDonalds even has the “McAussie” burger with beetroot on top! (gross.)

    good luck with your knee! getting a second opinion is definitely worth it.

    Reply

  10. tanyasDailyProductReviews
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 22:36:14

    I really like beets

    Reply

  11. Jacklyn Johnston
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 11:02:35

    Agh! I didn’t know that about beets. So weird. That sucks about your knees. Good think you’re getting a second opinion just to see what someone else says. Good luck!

    Reply

  12. sophia
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 18:07:23

    Yay for your 1/2 lb loss! You’re right. A loss is a loss, and you’re headed at the right direction.
    And 3/4 a block of cheese? Tee hee, I see you share my love for cheese…though I like them gooey and melted! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

