To cleanse or not to cleanse

A popular craze, especially in NYC, is the cleanse. I’ve done two before, both with Blueprint. The first time I did the “easiest” level, and the second time, the middle level. A day on the cleanse includes this:
Green juice
Pineapple mint juice
Green juice
Spicy lemonade
Beet juice
Cashew milk

And that’s it. I’ve done the 3-day as a way to jump start my body and clean oiut all the toxins. I wasn’t really planning on doing one again, since the last time I really struggled, but I’m thinking about it. Both Blueprint and Cooler Cleanse over a raw food/juice combo option. I’m thinking about doing Cooler just because it’s cheaper and I’m not the biggest fan of the Blueprint’s green juices. Have you ever tried a juice cleanse?

Yesterday I went swimming again. I also bought goggles this time around. I kept losing track but I think I did 15 roundrip laps. When I got home, I made a yummy green monster and a sandwich consisting of a sandwich thin, hummus, tomato and avocado. Then, of course, I finished off the rest of the avocado. At the same time I roasted up some beets which I’ll have tonight.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 10:30:09

    Looks tasty! I have yet to do a cleanse. I’ve thought about it…and I think that is 1/2 the battle.That sandwich looks yummy!

    Reply

  2. Jacklyn Johnston
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 10:57:25

    I’ve never done one but one of my friends from work has and it really seems to mess her up. I don’t know if I could do it with running. I’d be too afraid it would mess me up or I’d collapse. haha.

    Reply

  3. fitandfortysomething
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 11:43:16

    never done a cleanse…….will you post each day about it so i can “hear” how it is going?

    Reply

  4. Fit Chick in the City
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 11:43:37

    I haven’t done a cleanse and don’t plan on it. I did at one time look into the blueprint cleanse, but it’s not all organic so I decided to pass. Plus, I’m pretty active and I’m afraid I couldn’t teach my classes and train clients effectively with so few calories.

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 12:03:29

    Oh my gosh. That sandwich is one of my favorite combinations! I love the simplicity and how the flavors mix so well together! A little bit of onion is great too!

    I haven’t done a cleanse and they kind of worry me. I feel they don’t give enough nutrients, fat and protein that the body needs. Perhaps the one that includes raw foods does, but not having seen it, I have no idea. I guess, if it makes you feel great afterwards and you don’t feel any side effects, then go ahead, but be careful!! And it would probably be a good idea to talk to your doctor first.

    Reply

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 12:34:04

    I’ve never done a cleanse, so I have no real advice on the subject… They make me a little nervous, so if you do one, make sure you do your research! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Becky
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 12:38:48

    I’ve never done a cleanse. I’m not sure I could do it successfully. I also worry that it would compromise my ability to train. I would probably turn into a hungry beast! For now, I’ll stick with Green Monsters.

    Reply

  8. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 13:09:41

    Let me know if you end up doing the cleanse. I don’t think I could ever do one, even if it was just for three days or so.

    I’ll just stick with my CSA veggies 🙂

    Reply

  9. Blond Duck
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 13:57:34

    Popped in to say hi! Fellow runner/ writer here!

    Reply

  10. Beth
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 15:21:50

    I’ve never done a cleanse but am interested to hear about your experiences! I just think I would get SO hungry!

    Reply

  11. Lynne
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 23:32:09

    why does it look like we’re cooking the same recipes???! I’m in love with almond butter and almond breeze – guess that makes me nutty! haha!

    Reply

  12. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 00:28:09

    I’m not sure about the cleanse stuff. I’m skeptical. You’ll have to write more about it!

    That sandwich looks delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

