Oh, Monday

Thank you everyone for your supportive comments. I’m going to keep at it, and try to increase my water intake while decreasing my alcohol intake. We’ll see what happens. This morning I set my alarm for 5:45am and headed to the gym by 6. I find it hard to think of non-cardio things to do, but ended up on the bike for 20 minutes (low impact for my knee), followed by a bunch of different weight exercises. Have you ever tried to spell the alphabet with an 8-lb weight? It’s hard. I really miss the feeling of walking back to my apt dripping in sweat, but this morning was certainly better than nothing.

Last night I was inspired to make homeade vegan pesto, thanks to Heidi at Basil Vodka. I first picked up some goodies at the farmer’s market by my apt. Here we’ve got a zucchini, yellow squash, eggplant, beets, fresh basil, green pepper and 3 cucumbers.

I got the rest of the week’s groceries at the store. The recipe for pesto is simple. Basil, pine nuts, salt, garlic, evoo. I roasted the eggplant, zucchini and squash at 425 for 40 minutes with some EVOO, salt and pepper.

It filled up my entire roasting pan!

Once that was cooling, I put in the 3 tsp minced garlic w/ 1/2 tsp salt. Next I added fresh basil (cup & 1/2) and 3 tbsp pine nuts. Then I streamed in 1/4 cup of EVOO.

I thought it may have come out a bit too salty for my liking, but when I put some over the roasted veggies, it worked.

Yummy dinner. As a snack I had a laughing cow wedge and pomegranite fruit bar. Do you snack after dinner? I always need something.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:42:57

    That looks yummy! You just reminded me that I forgot EVOO at the grocery store! ahhh!

    Reply

  2. Jocelyn
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:48:01

    the bike is the way to go for the knee! The elliptical should be ok as well depending on how bad your knee is.

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:51:47

    Non-cardio is hard for me, too. Even a good portion of my “cross training” includes cardio… I’m obsessed.

    Reply

  4. abbi
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 09:55:54

    Yum! Might need to try this soon…I tend to need a snack after dinner too!

    Reply

  5. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 10:52:31

    Yessss! Glad to hear you made the vegan pesto! It’s so fantastic. I ran out this weekend so I think I’m going to enter mass production mode soon and whip up pesto and more Impersonator Cheese.

    I’m glad you’re finding goodies at your farmer’s market! I’m still workin my way through the CSA but will probably need a veggie refill by Friday.

    PS. Tonight. Men Tell All. SO Excited.

    Reply

  6. fitandfortysomething
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 13:06:16

    your workout sounds good! yes different than running but good in other ways for sure……i tend to cut back on my beloved alcohol too while i try to loose a few pounds-it sucks but it works! what is the spectrum in irvine you mentioned on my blog?

    Reply

  7. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 13:40:00

    Love the idea of making the alphabet with a weight – sounds like quite a challenge!

    I almost always have a small snack after dinner…usually something small and sweet. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Becky
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 14:59:53

    I am such a cardio queen…forcing myself to get some strength training in, too. Love your ABCs with weights! As a elementary school teacher, that could be perfect for me!

    I almost always have some sort of “dessert” after dinner. Even if I’m not hungry, I still eat a little something…just completes my day 🙂

    Reply

  9. Beth
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 15:54:43

    I have trouble figuring out what to do with non cardio workouts too. That is why I love the shred! and yes, I’m a serial nighttime snacker. always have to have something sweet!

    Reply

  10. Jacklyn Johnston
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 21:38:25

    Go girl! I’m the same way you are without cardio but it sounds like I could learn a couple things from you…and some recipes 🙂 That looks amazing! And absolutely yes I am a nighttime snacker! I just can’t get around it. haha.

    Reply

  11. sophia
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 23:40:23

    Summer calls for brilliant pesto like that! Maybe it needs a bit more starch to tone down the saltiness…like pasta! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Lindsay
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 09:33:28

    I always need a little bite after dinner too. I’m not even usually hungry. I think it’s just a time filler for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

