Giving up

I really want to give up. Today was weigh-in day and I only lost a half a pound. I was really dilligent about my food this week and worked out as hard as I could given my knee circumstances. Yes, I could skip all alcohol and eating out, but then I’d have no social life. And I was pretty good even when I was out. So folks, what do I do. Hang in there? Hope that once I can start running again the weight will come off more easily?

Thoughts? Comments? Concerns?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 13:37:36

    I’m sorry to hear this! I know you’ve been working so hard! I hate to suggest this, but it might be worth a try. I used to go out a lot for my old job, and these nights often involved alcohol. Once I stopped drinking my calories (and eating nasty stuff that always follows a night of drinks) I did see a change on the scale. I suggest that you try it out for a week, see how it goes. Order club soda or another calorie free drink when you go out instead. Just because you’re not drinking alcohol doesn’t mean you have to give up nights out with your friends. You might get a few wierd looks at first, but it’s definitely worth a try. Also, make sure you’re drinking a lot of water throughout the day. It will keep you full – often we mistake thirst for hunger!

    Reply

  2. Jocelyn
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 13:44:14

    NEVER GIVE UP! Try to switch up what kinds of food you are eating maybe? Or try to switch to lo carb beer or something like vodka and soda water. Really work on crosstraining too! I know, I have been there with my knee and it is not an easy thing to over come! Just don’t throw in the towel yet!!

    Reply

  3. tanyasdailyProductReviews
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 14:03:27

    Add more bulk…vegetables and lot’s of water!

    Reply

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 15:16:41

    Once you start running again (or getting more cardio/workout/etc), it will definitely help! And seriously- think about a half or one pound every week adding up- it really will!

    Reply

  5. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 15:46:01

    Ooh good point. Are you drinking enough water? Otherwise you might want to do like dailyplate for a week to make sure your calorie count is on. Now, I’m not advocating count calories everyday of your life, but a week is a good snapshot of where your calories come from.

    I’ve seen it in both Women’s Health and Shape now that take your goal weight and multiply it by 10 to get daily calories. So if you want to be 120 pounds you should eat 1,200 calories a day. Sounds low to me, but apparently the standard 2,000 is too many these days.

    Reply

  6. Beth
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 17:45:59

    half a pound is good!!! I know you want to lose more but the slower you lose the weight, the longer it stays off for!

    Reply

  7. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 18:30:04

    Don’t give up! You didn’t gain; you lost! Sometimes there may be other factors we cannot see, right?

    Reply

  8. Ruth
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 20:37:58

    I read back and last week you were happy with 1/2 lb. Keep up the good work! I think its about trial and error and the more you try the more you’ll learn what you can and can’t do. I refuse to stick to any specific diet, I have a life but what I am doing is learning what to eat and what not to eat. I’m doing is a lifestyle change. And running does help but so do all the muscle building workouts. “Muscles do miracles on the metabolism”. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Josh Healy
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 03:43:11

    Hi, hope it’s OK to contact you here. We would love to include your blog on our giveaway search engine: Giveaway Scout (http://www.giveawayscout.com). Have a look and if interested, use our online form to add your blog (http://www.giveawayscout.com/addblog/ ). thanks, Josh

    Reply

  10. sophia
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 21:37:55

    Hey, at least you lost! That means you’re still headed towards the right direction. That’s reason to be joyful about, and as you persevere onwards, I’m sure you’ll continue to see changes in your body. Also, don’t forget that muscles weighs more than fat…you could just be doing some exchanging of fat/muscle ratio! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Lindsay
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 09:04:39

    Don’t give up girlie! Half a pound doesn’t sound great, but it is good! Have you been drinking a lot of water. That always seems to help me.

    Reply

  12. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 17:52:54

    Not to be a broken record but… can you limit the booze?

    Determine how often you usually go out … let’s say 3 nights a week. Make a point to only drink one night — and have water the others. Any change from what you are currently doing should work!

    Also, I read recently that just because we are runners doesn’t mean we can eat like crazy. Your body will get used to your exercise — and you will need to work harder/train differently to continue burning calories.

    So running is not an excuse to eat or drink ANY more than your body requires.

    Also keep in mind that as long as you are losing — that is progress. The more someone weighs to begin with, the more weight they are going to lose at one time. You are petite — so 1/2 lb is a big deal for you! Don’t get discouraged by hearing how fast/much others lose weight.

    Hope it helps!

    P.S. Maybe you should do a food/drink diary. Or even post a blog about it. Give us a rundown on what all you are eating/drinking when you go out during the week. Dunno if that would help.

    Reply

  13. Shannon
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:11:10

    You know in the back of your head that you shouldn’t give up. Seriously, a loss is a loss no matter how big or small! Plus, I know that if you gave up even part of the alcohol and food while out with friends that the weight would drop off – as well as when you start running again! The only helpful advice I can give you is try to intake more water – it really does help!

    Reply

  14. Fit Chick in the City
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:56:15

    While I understand your frustration, 1/2 a pound is 1/2 a pound. There’s nothing wrong with that. Imagine if you loose 1/2 a pound each week for 10 weeks? Keep up the healthy eating, you are doing great!

    Reply

  15. nova 2 hd apk
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:57

    Giving up Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about Giving up Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Justin Rolf

    Reply

  16. Football Helmet Visors
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 16:34:21

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

