Squash and swimming

Well I got back in the pool. I know, so proud of me too. I went after work and it wasn’t crowded one bit. I jumped in and started doing laps. I’m not gonna lie, I still have a pretty mean crawl stroke. It’s tiring though and my eyes were so red from the chlorine. Must. get. goggles. The person there said it was a 14 yard pool (is that right?) and so I did 12 round trip laps. I’m still super sore from my workout sesh Tuesday, so the pool was perfect for me.

When I got home, I cooked up the squash I had gotten from my local farmer’s market. I diced it up and sauteed it, along with 1 big carrot I also had, in EVOO. Once it was starting to get soft I put it over brown rice and added some Newman’s Own lite Sesame Ginger dressing. It was a party in my mouth to say the least. The one-ball squash was very similar to the regular squash, except with a tougher skin.



Today I’m taking a day off from working out, but back to the good ole salad for lunch and I’m going out to sushi tonight. Yum!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 12:26:04

    The soreness after a good swim hurts sooooo gooood! I need to hit the pool soon- for swimming, not tanning… lol

    Reply

  2. hundredtenpounds
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 13:31:14

    I can’t imagine not wearing goggles when I swim!

    Reply

  3. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 15:31:15

    I never put carrots in with my squash…but it is a good idea. Dindin’s looking good!

    Reply

  4. Molly
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 16:41:19

    I loooove all the Newman’s Light dressings! Yum.

    Reply

  5. fitandfortysomething
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:56:23

    great job on the swimming! yes get some goggles…..

    Reply

  6. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 20:02:24

    great job getting back in the pool! You’re dinner looks fantastic.

    Reply

  7. abbi
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 13:13:03

    Hi Robyn – Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m looking forward to reading yours! Hope you enjoyed your sushi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

