Facing my fears: the gym pool

I finally did it. I took an exercise class in the pool. Now it’s not the water I’m scared of, but I hate taking classes I’ve never been to before, and for this one specifically I just didn’t know what to expect. But because it’s the best workout I can do with my knee right now, I figured I’d go for it. And how crowded could it be at 9am on a Saturday? So I walked in there and the first thing I realized was that swim caps are required. Shit. Didn’t say that on the website. Luckily the nice gym guy gave me one to borrow. As the ladies, yes, ladies strolled in I realized I may be the youngest one there by good 30 years. They all knew each other and it was kind of cute that this is their big exercise for the week. One granny even had a walker and I heard her say if it weren’t for the pool classes she’d probably be in a wheelchair.

So the one other thing I was nervous about was the fact that I don’t own a 1-piece. Let me tell you, when you’re in water those puppies float. So even though I was in a bandeau I was constantly fearing a nipple slip or two. And the instructor took notice. He was a young, buff hard core guy (that all the ladies love) and kept yelling at me to not worry about my wardrobe. He knew exactly what I was thinking the entire time. The actual class was more intense than I expected. Using water as resistance is tiring and you know me, I have to try to be as hard core as possible. He kept calling people out and was screaming, “how do I want you to jog?”, and we’d have to say, “hard.” Yeah, he’s that type of guy. Afterwards he asked me my name (everyone else were regulars) and he said, next time wear I swimsuit. I explained that I didn’t want to buy a one piece until I knew if I liked the class, which he totally understood. So will I go back? I just might. With a properly fitting 1-piece and my own swimcap.

After the class, I came home and made some breakfast. I switched it up and cooked 2 eggs over. Because I had already had toast before the gym, I put it on a bed of spinach. It was yummolicious.


And most exciting of all, my new toy came in the mail!

I really want to try this black bean burger recipe I saw on the Front Burner Blog. So excited!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa @ early morning run
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 11:43:04

    Congrats on taking the class! I have the similar fears about pool classes and am a bit intimidated by getting in the pool with a bunch of people I don’t know. Weird, right? Sounds like it was a great class though, and I’m sure those ladies were super cute! I love that they’re finding ways to stay active and that there are classes like this for them!

    Your breakfast looks delicious! Have fun with the food processor! Can’t wait to hear about your black bean burgers. I’ll have to check out the recipe – I’ve been looking for a good one to try.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Body Workout 101
  3. tricia
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 15:56:57

    great job facing your fears!

    Reply

  4. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 20:30:48

    Congrats on facing your fears and taking the class! I’m also intimidated by classes I’m unfamiliar with, so I know where you’re coming from.

    p.s. Those black bean burgers are soooooo good. You must make them as soon as possible! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 01:34:26

    I love your polka dot dishes!

    Good for you for trying something new. It’s fun!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: William Bradley: The Machinations of Meg Whitman: Murphy’s Million (Plus) and More | Personal services

Leave a Reply

