Life keeps getting in the way

I find it so hard to get in a workout that doesn’t include running. After making it through a 2 mile run on Sunday, I got some bad news Monday at PT. My right knee still has an aching pain to the left of my knee cap and so he told me to not run for now. What does that mean? Not really sure. All I know is that when he plays around with it, to try and see what’s wrong, it feels like someone’s pushing down really hard on a bruise. He thinks it’s still lingering from Patella Femoral syndrome but that also the muscles are probably still inflamed. To me that means blah, blah, blah, I can’t run. And while I could be doing other things (and want to workout), life keeps getting in the darn way. No more lunchtime workouts due to either PT or being busy at work, and so far every night this week I have something planned. The good news is, I’m doing ok with WW. Today I made yet another ginormous salad for lunch. Exhibit A- ginormous salad:

I had some leftover cauliflower and stuck it on top and after leaving tofu on the counter yesterday, today I remembered to bring it! (Not the same piece obvs).

Don’t forget, today’s the last day to enter my Ryders and Gu giveaway!

*Injury update
I just got back from PT and they think it’s pes anserinus. Yeah, my thoughts exactly. Basically the pes anserine area is made up of the pes anserinus is made up of the tendons of the sartorius, gracilis, and semitendinosus muscles.
When I initially went into them it was for the back of the knee/hamstrings which is connected to this area. Well one website says the cause of Pes Anserinus is usually caused by overuse of the hamstrings, especially in athletes with tight hamstrings is a common cause of goosefoot. Runners are affected most often. Totally makes sense right? So he tried to stretch it all out and massage it and I have to say it was one of the MOST painful things I’ve felt. My eyes were even tearing. But whatever will make it better. They also gave me ultrasound, then ice and stim. I need to ice a lot on my own and no running (or even elliptical) for at least 2 more weeks. FML.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 09:47:14

    Fingers are crossed that you recover fast. As someone who has had surgery on my knee and other major injuries, i hope that it is nothing!

    Reply

  2. Jacklyn Johnston
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 10:13:57

    I totally know how that is. Even when I’m running, I always skip cross training days cause for some reason it’s harder to fit in. I don’t know what it is. Hang in there. I know it sucks not running but it’s better to make sure it’s fully healed before you get back at it!

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 11:13:28

    Sorry about the running issues. I really feel we all go in waves with our injuries, huh? So frustrating!

    And I know what you mean- I can always prioritize running, but the cross/strength training easily takes a back seat. I’m a cardio junkie…

    Reply

  4. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 11:48:16

    I’m sorry you can’t run for now, that totally stinks. But, if it’s still bothering you, you definitely don’t want to make it worse!

    Your lunch looks fantastic!!

    Reply

  5. cna training
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 12:25:08

    What a great resource!

    Reply

  6. Ginny
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 19:00:35

    Here’s hoping for a fast recovery!

    Reply

  7. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 19:06:44

    You poor dear! I can’t imagine what it’s like for a runner to not run? Can you at least power walk? Did they suggest some things you can do in the meantime? How do you feel about yoga?

    Oh and I already miss NYC. I need to move there. Minnesota is getting boring.

    Reply

  8. Trish
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 19:27:53

    😦 Ouch. I’m a nurse, and I didn’t know what or where the pes anserinus was! That it is not where I would have guessed 😉 I hope you have a speedy recovery! Hopefully the massaging and stretching won’t be as bad the next time. Hang in there!

    Reply

  9. Melissa
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 22:27:35

    That sucks! Wishing you a speedy recovery!!

    Reply

  10. Marcia
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 21:39:01

    Pes what? At any rate it sounds like you’re getting some good treatment. Hope it heals up for you fast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

