SOWL

So what does SOWL stand for? The Summer of Weight Loss. Kerrie over at Mom Vs. Marathon penned the term and a bunch of us are joining in because now we can do it together, oh and blog about it for all of you to read (thus making me accountable for all my late-night snacking actions).

I have to do my measurements, but for now I have my starting weight and before pictures. I even let it all hang out, no sucking in of the tummy here!
Starting weight = 137
A little over a year ago at this time I was 125, and although I know I’ve not as small as I was, I think some of the pounds gained have to be muscle from running and PT. Or at least that’s my story. Okay, before pictures (cringe!)
There you have it, people.

I figured I’d start off the SOWL right with a pre-work workout. I woke up at 6am, checked the temp and it was already 84 degrees. Holy hotness. Because the knee has been doing better, I also decided it was time to try and run. I did 1 mile along the East River in about 10:45. Not too bad. The knee hurt a bit towards the end, but I have PT today so that should help. I then did 3 sets of 10 dips, 3 sets of 20 lunges and 2 planks for 30 seconds and the last plank for 45. I was dripping the entire time! (Look at that boob sweat)

One of my major goals for SOWL is to quit the post-dinner snacking that’s done out of boredom and other various reasons. I bought myself some ice pops (pomegranite) that I’ll have after dinner if I want something sweet, but I’m really going to try to leave it at that. Today’s meals are peach non fat Chobani greek yogurt w/ blueberries, iced coffee with skim (I already miss my half & half), made a big new awesome salad for lunch (I wrote about last week) and also packed a plum. Going to see Eclipse tonight, so I’m not sure what dinner plans will be.

Good luck to all my fellow SOWL-ers!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 09:34:34

    Good luck with the challenge! It’s always SO helpful to be held accountable in some way for your actions…

    And I hate boob sweat. It’s so hard to look like a bad ass when you have it… lol

    Reply

  2. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 10:02:23

    Nice boob sweat! Hahaha!

    Reply

  3. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 13:06:34

    Haha boob sweat. When I was on the high school dance team we called it swoob. And yes we talked about enough that we needed to give it a one syllable name.

    Oh and PS. Fun Fact. We weigh the same amount.

    Reply

  4. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 13:42:32

    Woah, you worked out, outside this morning? That is gutsy! It was hot even when we went to the gym at 5:15!! Great job getting it in, though!!

    I love your plan for SOWL! I, also, am trying to stop snacking after dinner. I had a dessert last night, but it was watermelon and cherries, so I don’t think that’s too bad. I feel the same way, that those mindless nibbles are not doing me any good!

    Good luck with it all! We’re all here to cheer you on!

    Reply

  5. Keri
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:39:54

    Oh my god it is so HOT out there! Good luck with the weight loss…you will do great! So glad you were able to run again!

    Reply

  6. Leanne
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 19:19:13

    I love this post! SOWL has such a nice ring to it. Your pre-work workout sounds awesome! Nothing like a good sweat to get the day going, and you ran to boot!

    Reply

  7. Sophia
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 01:35:33

    Yay, go SOWL team. Did you love Eclipse? I went last night. Good luck with the eating.

    Reply

  8. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 12:42:39

    I’m a little behind in posting but wanted to tell you that we must have the same body type. Seriously. I’m a different weight right now than you are, but I have the same thighs and rump.

    Good luck on your challenge! I think it’s all about calories in and calories out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

