Fit and Flow Review

Yesterday I took my first Fit & Flow class. You can find out more about it here, but it’s basically 45 minutes of cardio taught by Leanne, followed by 45 minutes of Yoga taught by Jill. It’s in Central Park and luckily last night was the first gorgeous night in awhile. We met at 7 and headed over to a grassy area that would be good for the drills. There were about 20 of us, a perfect number so that the class wasn’t too large. Right away we took off for a little run, with at least 5 rounds of up and down stairs. Leanne didn’t forget about me and my dumb knee and made sure I stayed in the back and didn’t run. Instead of running up the stairs, I walked them 2 at a time. Gotta improvise, you know? Then we went back to the grass where we did tons of stuff like lunges, crab walks (yuck), more lunges, dips, ab work. The list goes on. During one of the many drills we were lunging across the grass and I was clearly way behind. Me and my competitive side did not like to be last, but Leanne yelled out to everyone that I was recovering from a major knee injury, which made me happy that they’d know I wasn’t a slacker, I was just trying to take it easy. Truth be told, I felt out of shape and winded so regardless of the knee I was having a tough time. I think it’s also due to the fact that I haven’t exercised for 45 min without stopping since pre-knee. The planks and 50 sit-ups kicked my butt, or I should say my abs, especially since I was still feeling the soreness from Saturday. Yep, she’s that good at working the muscles. We ended the class with a little relay race (which I sat out of of since I can’t run), so I did what any other blogger would…I snapped a pic.

Next up was yoga. Okay, I’m so not a yogi so I knew this part wouldn’t be my favorite, but Jill was great. She’s so sweet and is all about people making the experience they want it to be and not preaching you to be all “brahmacharya.” Ok so I looked up a funny Yoga word, but you get the point. I have to say I did have a wicked headache at this point, not sure why, so I really didn’t get as into the Yoga as I would have liked. And am I the only one who thinks of Scarlett Johansson’s character in He’s Just Not That Into You when I hear “Namaste.” You know, the scene when Bradley Cooper takes her yoga class. Okay, moving on.

If anyone caught me taking this pic, they probably thought I was totes weird but whatevs, I had to snap 1 in Yoga pose.

All in all, it was another great session with Leanne, and I’d love to take her class again. For $25 bucks, this hour and a half really didn’t break the bank. And it was near Columbus Circle so you know what that means. After I made myself a kick-ass Whole Foods salad of deliciousness.

There’s healthy stuff underneath, but I love to top it with a little Indian fare to give it flav-a.

Have you tried a new type of workout lately?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 09:57:29

    this sounds awesome! I’m definitely going to try it out when my foot is a little stronger!

    Reply

  2. rundiva
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 12:27:12

    I just started incorporating yoga and Insanity workouts along with my running schedule. I hope it helps.

    Reply

  3. A@ Please Don't Eat Me!
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 16:44:04

    that class sounds like so much fun! yoga is harder to get into when you dont feel comfortable doing all the poses i think.. give it some time maybe it will “grow on you” lol

    Reply

  4. Keri
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 19:51:50

    Sounds like a blast! What a nice way to get back into exercise…outdoors in Central Park

    Reply

  5. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 18:43:37

    Exercising in a beautiful park?! How lucky are you!!! That sounds like a fabulous time to me.

    I have been trying some group fitness classes at my gym, I am not a big group fitness person, but it is kind of fun for a change of pace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

