Feeling like myself again

This morning I woke up excited, tired and also a little nervous for my first training session with Leanne. I started out with my usual pre-run breakfast of whole wheat toast with low-fat natural peanut butter and a banana on the side.

Yum. I got ready to head out to the park and got to sport my brand new Aerie by American Eagle workout top. It’s a sportsbra on top and loose on the bottom, which is the type of silhouette I live by.

I met Leanne at 10am and we spotted each other right away. From the beginning I knew we’d hit it off. She said we’d do a combo of walking (the park is filled with hills) and then strength training to mix it up. She wasn’t kidding. We’d be walking and then pull to the side and I’d do 10 push-ups, followed by a plank for 30 seconds. Later on we did dips on the bench and then some hard-core crunches with a medicine ball. I loved the idea of walking and then breaking it up with some tougher drills and then back to walking. At one point I got a little light headed after a set of 20 lunges and thought I’d puke. I was thinking, you’ve got to be kidding me, I’m going to puke on my first session, this is embarassing. But a little break in the shade and I was ready to get back in there. Towards the end I was doing a drill of planks and then pushing up into a push-up stance (I realize it’s way hard to explain by typing) and one woman shouted, “That looks hard, you keep it up girl.” Yeah I got props from a woman walking her dog. Score. The entire workout sesh Leanne and I were chatting and that’s why I love NYC. It’s so easy to meet new people. Pretty sure her and I are sorta the same person, which is pretty funny and awesome. I’m excited to try out her fit and flow group class in the park that’s 40 min of cardio followed by 40 of yoga. I never thought I’d be one to try personal training since I always thought it was a waste of money for someone such as myself who works out, but I loved every minute of it. (except for the almost throwing up part.)

Walking home, I felt like myself for the first time in awhile. It was early on a lovely Saturday, I had gotten a good workout in, and was high on endorphins. It’s incredible how working your body makes you crave healthy foods and so on the way home I picked up an avocado and tomato. As soon as I got home I made a wrap with some hummus, tomato and avocado and it was so delish.

Next I iced up the knees to be safe (which PS did not hurt at all during the workout!) and took a good shower. Why do my knees gets so blotchy after ice packs?

Oh, and I got a pedicure last night:)

So far, this weekend is off to a good start.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 18:12:14

    So glad you hit it off so well!
    Sounds like you are going to have a great weekend!

    Reply

  2. Keri
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 18:29:21

    Wow sounds like a blast! Sometimes its just nice to have someone to motivate you, even if you workout a lot and know what to do…thats why I love group fitness. That Fit and Flow class sounds amazing! I wish my gym had something like that! Love the new blog look btw.

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 19:18:53

    I would love to have a personal trainer- to learn more strength moves and how to properly use weights during them. But I’m a little strapped for $$$, so maybe when I have a reason to indulge? That’s awesome that you enjoyed it- and great that you got to do it outside! Good way to spend the day!

    Reply

  4. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 19:22:13

    Sounds fantastic! Glad you had such a great morning (and I love the purple pedi!) The fit and flow class sounds awesome. I’d love to get the info on that class sometime. It would be great to try once my heel is better (and I think I’m almost there)!

    Thanks for the words of encouragement, by the way!

    Hope you’ve stayed cool this weekend!

    Reply

  5. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 19:25:45

    I love that you got a shout out from girl walking her dog. Definitely motivating!

    You’ll have to show me the crazy drill-style plank/pushup move. I say show, because we get to hang out tomorrow which is super exciting for me. 🙂

    See you tomorrow!!

    Reply

  6. Lindsay
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 11:52:43

    That’s fabulous you and your trainer are a good match. I’m sure that makes a difference! 🙂 Cute purple pedi! XOXOX

    Reply

  7. MissZippy
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 12:11:45

    That’s great that you found the right trainer for you. So important! And it sounded like a great workout.

    Pedi looks great!

    Reply

  8. yumyucky
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 16:12:18

    Drill-walking! That’s a great concept. And so jealous about those toes of yours. Mine look like crusty cantaloupe skins right now. ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

