Why can’t I flip?

Seriously, all goes well when I’m making a quesadilla until it’s time to flip it over and then it’s a disaster. For last night’s meal I made a black bean and corn quesadilla with a side of asparagus. Except I ate while roasting the asparagus so by the time I was done with the ‘dilla and then pita chips that I scooped the salsa and beans on, I was hungry no more. So asparagus will be today’s lunch.

Sprinkled with salt, pepper, rosemary and too much EVOO by accident. Then roast at 450 for 15 minutes.

Then my not-so masterpiece.

How do I prevent all the beans from coming out when I flip? I ended up scooping them up and adding them on top. Still tasty, just not so finger friendly.

So time for a quick PT update: I still can’t run. And I’m still in pain. Yeah, it blows. The hamstrings are doing way better but now the bad knee hurts in the front left area. When my P-therapist pushes down on the spot that’s bothering me it feels like a bruise and I literally wince. WTF? Then, on my left side, my hip is bothering me and he said I should be careful because it’s my bursa (a fluid filled sack- yum), and could be inflamed or get worse with pressure on it from things like foam rolling. He did an ultrasound to massage it and my left hip and right knee got ice. What am I 87 years old?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 12:04:01

    Put the cheese directly on the tortilla, then the beans and corn, then more cheese and the second tortilla. That way, when the cheese melts, it’ll “hold onto” the beans and corn so they won’t all spill out!

    Reply

  2. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 13:26:59

    So sorry to hear your knee is still bad. 😦

    Here I am griping on my blog but I really shouldn’t! I should take my blessings.

    Thank you for reminding me of that.

    Reply

  3. fitandfortysomething
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:08:40

    first off i can’t flip anything! i wonder if you could take some time off from running by cycling instead? it seems so much easier on your body……

    Reply

  4. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:56:51

    Okay. Fluid Filled Sack? I think you just made me throw up in my mouth. Was that the goal? Mission accomplished.

    And YES YES YES I’m coming to NYC. In a not creepy way I was definitely thinking “I wonder if Robyn wants to hang out with me when I’m there….” So can we please? Email me hbobier@gmail.com. I’m looking for a buddy on Monday night…can we walk Central Park?!

    PS. Homegirl lives in Minnesota and does not visit the city often. Please disregard my over excitement for all things New York.

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 15:05:23

    I’ve never made a quasadilla, but I suck a flipping omelets! Another idea – put the fillings on only one side of a tortilla and close it up when you start. Then, just flip it over closed like that. If you’re using two tortillas, make two half-quasadillas. Does that make sense?

    By the way, I totally know what you mean about feeling old! It sucks! Sometimes the elliptical doesn’t bother my foot, but other times it does. The bike and now the stairmaster seem to be the easiest on my heel.

    Reply

  6. Melissa
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 09:02:12

    fluid filled sack…well if that doesn’t set your day on the right path I don’t know what will! 🙂

    I get a big huge silicone spatula on each side and use that to flip. I suck at that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

