One of my fave things about NYC…

Are the hidden (or not so hidden) gems that not enough people take advantage of. Yesterday I set out on a walk after work. I was dog-sitting my fave malti-poo and figured I’d take him with me, but that first attempt was a total fail. Here he is absolutely refusing to move.

So I brought him back home and went back out for round 2. I walked to Carl Schurz Park which is right on the East River, near my apt.

Maybe it’s because I’m usually running and this time I was walking, but I noticed how many people were out enjoying the weather and in such fun and different ways. On one side there was a young couple with a baby and a big pooch eating takeout, a section of the lawn had an elderly couple with a little picnic set up, of course there was the mini dog run where I love to watch the pups run and play. There were tons of runners, kids having a water fight, someone even painting a gorgeous picture! I often read all my different bloggy friends’ posts and get jealous over their runs by the mountains or through trails, or just the lovely suburbia outdoors but yesterday I realized people should be jealous of me and my surroundings!

Do you ever stop and think about how lovely of a place you live in?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 10:13:00

    I’m not a big dog fan, but that is one super cute little dog!!

    Carl Schultz Park is great! I didn’t find it until last year and love it. You hardly hear all the traffic streaming below, get a great view of the river, and there is some shade if you go in the trees! It’s fantastic but I don’t get up there often enough even though it’s not too far away. My hubby and I often look like tourists because we actually like to look up at all the beautiful architecture in the city, which most people who live hear just plow right by without admiring or appreciating, which I think is pretty sad. That’s why so many beautiful buildings are being torn down for cookie cutter glass behemoths!

    Hope you get to enjoy the fantastic weather today!!

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 22:18:58

    I often forget to take it in and enjoy where I live.

    I remember at one point during the shamrock shuffle in downtown chicago, I looked up and there was the sears tower (I will never call it Willis Tower) and I just stared in awe for a second or two- because I still can’t believe how wonderful of a city I live in!

    Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 22:46:37

    I do! When I was driving out to Sequim/Port Angeles for NODM, the beauty of actually took my breath away. Such a beautiful world we live in. I haven’t been to NY since I was young (my mom’s family lives on the East Coast — Long Island and Maine), but I really want to go back now that I’m older. Keep posting those pics!

    Reply

  4. fitandfortysomething
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 00:09:49

    all the time girl all the time…..i love where i live and appreciate the beauty around me all the time 🙂

    Reply

  5. tricia
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 12:08:11

    I am constantly reminded that I am super luck to live in such a beautiful place. We are facing a move (from Fl to Tx) and I know I’ll miss these ocean views.

    Reply

  6. Samantha @ Foodedu
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 21:31:05

    I try to make an effort to be appreciative of what my area has to offer–one of my favorite things is when the sky is clear and you can see the snow on the mountains all the way across the valley. It is beautiful!

    Reply

  7. Lindsay
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 07:14:15

    I had a dog once that did not want to go for walks either. She’d get really excited when you’d put her leash on her..then put on the brakes as soon as you stepped outside! I really do appreciate the beauty of where I live. Charleston is loaded with historical landmarks and surrounded by water. It’s stunning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

