Winging it

Wow is my right butt muscle/hip sore. Yesterday in PT I did this exercise called the clam and it’s hard to explain, but apparently it worked some of my glute muscles hard. I also made it to the gym yesterday and wearing my brace while doing the eliptical, I had no pain. Woohoo.

So last night I cooked up a storm. I was a bit flustered, not going to lie, trying to make 3 different meals all at the same time. My plan was to make a bunch of the things I could have during the week. First I went to the grocery store and stocked up. For about 51 bucks, this wasn’t so bad.

So the first recipe I wanted to make I had found over on the KERF blog here. You all know how much I love spaghetti squash. Unfortunately I had an inkling when Icut the SS that it wasn’t great but once I cooked it, I really knew the squash was just plain bad. Total C-Town SS fail. So I continued on with the recipe and will just have to eat it sans squash. This is a time when it would be good to have a stocked pantry of cous cous or pasta of some sort. Anyway, I cut up eggplant and salted it for 20 minutes so that the excess water would come out. After I rinsed, diced it up, diced up 2 small zucchini, and roasted them for 26 minutes at 400 degrees. No EVOO just cooking spray, salt and pepper.
You can see how the water just comes out of the eggplant here:

Before roasting:

After roasting:

After that was cooking, I sauteed some shrimp. They were already cooked so I really just put them on a pan for a few minutes on each side. No EVOO or anything.

I didn’t taste the dish (since I instead ate some leftover Chinese of tofu/veggies in brown sauce) but today I’ll have the eggplant, zucchini, shrimp with tomato sauce on top. Sounds good right?

For the next dish I prepared, I made a curried lentil stew which I found over on the Front Burner blog. The recipe is relatively simple and while I’ve never made curry and haven’t made lentils in forever, I knew I liked ever item in the dish so I should like it all together.

Apparently I didn’t take an after pic once the lentils and broth went in. Like I said I was flustered.

For my third and final dish (and on a Monday no less), I made some tofu. I love tofu and I’ve had this package in my fridge and figured it was time to do something with it. First I pressed the water out, which I haven’t ever done before.

Next I whipped up a marinade of minced fresh ginger and soy sauce. This wasn’t planned but I had both on hand. Once I dipped the tofu in the mixture, I seared it on a pan with just some non-stick spray. Here’s what it looked like with half the cubes flipped so you see the before and after.

Overall the meals were a success, even with some adapting and winging.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 12:47:37

    you were a busy bee for sure…..love the tofu 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jacklyn
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 21:52:50

    Th clam! Agh, I did that in PT. Did you have to use a band on your knees for that? It’s killer.

    Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 00:17:16

    Yummy! This makes me hungry.

    Reply

  4. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 10:50:41

    I love eggplant. Period.

    Is there really no “this is my finished dinner and look how pretty is but then I ate it all?” Those are the best pictures!!

    And high five for a successful PT session.

    Reply

  5. Beth
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 11:11:46

    Wow you really cooked up a storm! I have some tofu I want to cook tonight but I always use the pre cubed kind so I’m kind of dreading pressing it. Yours looks so good and browned perfectly!

    Reply

  6. g.
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 14:47:05

    I do this sometimes. It always makes the week SO much easier. I often make things that freeze well so I don’t get sick and tired of eating it by the end of the week. Wait, what am I saying? I never get sick and tired of eating, but I have kids & a Husband… so, it’s really about them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

