You gotta start somewhere

Today was my first day back in the gym in about 3 weeks. Since I don’t have a tear I can do low-impact training (I’ll get more details at the doc tomorrow) so I wanted to start off with the eliptical. I’ve been wallowing long enough and today needed to sweat, even if it was only a little bit. I did 2o minutes and played around with low incline/higher resistance and high incline/low resistance. Not sure if one is better than the other for me but in the end I did about 1.5 miles. Next I did 100 crunches on the big ball (yes that’s my professional term for it). Man they were hard. It’s been awhile since I did crunches and I’m going to make an effort to do more. I also did some free weights as well. Next came the scale dun, dun, dun…. I knew if I went to the gym I’d weigh myself. I can’t honestly remember where I was before vacay but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I’d like to lose 4 pounds to feel better, with an ultimate goal of about 10.

Another thing I want to do is drink more water. Over the weekend I got this cute water bottle from Target, and it’s the kind with a small spout so you don’t end up spilling everywhere like I did with my clean kanteen.

Another thing I need to do is get back into the habit of bringing in lunch. Not only is it way cheaper but so much better when I know what I’m putting in my body. The problem is I love the place I’ve been going to everyday. I go through phases as you all know and right now I’m in a Dishes phase. They have an awesome prepared foods and salads salad-bar but you pay by weight and it always costs me a small fortune. And although a lot of the stuff I get looks or seems healthy, I know it’s probably not as good for me as I think it is. And of course I load up because everything looks so tasty. The 1 positive is I eat it slowly and won’t be hungry for a snack later. Today’s sampling is some greens, a bunch of other random little things like wheatberry with tomato, asparagus, some feta and a big chunk of their ancho-roasted salmon.

I may have hid the more fattening items underneath πŸ™‚

What do you do for lunch?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 13:35:06

    cute bottle! I need to get a new one – my sigg is a few years old.

    Congrats on getting back to the gym! Working out, drinking more water and eating a great lunch should make you feel great today! Plus the beautiful weather! I’ve found that my foot injury has forced me to try new things at the gym, which was good, since I was getting in a rut!

    Hope it goes well with the Doc tomorrow!

    Reply

  2. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 20:58:54

    Is there anything you can’t get at Target? I say no. My lunch included veggie sushi from TJ’s. Creative, I know. πŸ™‚

    Hopefully your dr appointment tomorrow goes well!

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 21:29:43

    I bring in my lunch the majority of the time. Mostly salads- but they’re HUGE (so don’t think I’m malnourished by any means!). And sometimes I’ll make two of whatever I’m having for dinner (let’s not kid around- I make a lot of wraps as of late) and I’ll bring the leftover in the next day. Soooo much cheaper than hitting the cafeteria in my building! It makes me feel like my recent shoe purchase is justified… πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  4. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 00:28:16

    I need to follow suit on the water bottle. I just got one like the kanteen you described for my work desk. But I need one with a spout for the gym. I just recently pitched my apparently (had no idea) BPA laden bottles.

    I usually pack or drive home for lunch. Its only about 9-min from work to home for me, so it’s feasible. I get in modes where packing is dull and our breakroom is fugly so who wants to sit in there anyway? LOL.

    I find I can make fresh quick foods at home and enjoy them a lot more. I have even mastered making homemade choc chip cookies on my break and bringing them back to work to munch on at my desk.

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 10:10:57

    Can I just say I’m a wee bit jealous…100 crunches! Ugh I can only make it to 65. I have more work ahead of me.

    FYI I literally just bought that exact same water bottle 3 days ago. Even in the same color! lol

    Reply

  6. fitandfortysomething
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:37:13

    love the water bottle! i need to drink more water too……

    Reply

  7. lindsay
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 11:57:51

    I gotta check out that water bottle. Seen them everywhere! Salmon and asapargus are my FAVORITES! Nice lunch, yum yum! Glad to have found your ramblings…hehe! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Jacklyn Johnston
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 18:35:28

    Yeah, I just started yesterday getting back into it. Partially cause I really missed running and then because I have a vacation coming up in 3 weeks. Eek. Not near ready!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

