Memorial Day weekend and an update

What lovely weather for a holiday weekend. Saturday was my first full day at my Jersey Shore house and a few of us did some food shopping and a trip to Target for house supplies.  There were only 5 of us there that night and I, along with the help of my griller, prepared a little meal for my housemates. I’m never the cooker in the house so I was excited when I made zucchini that everyone loved. Here’s my little spread:

We were also given a new grill this year!

By the way, I’m still pretty meatless and enjoyed a veggie burger that night.

Sunday we had some serious sun. After spending some time at the beach, I headed back to our porch to read and enjoy a beer. I mean, it’s not like I could go for a run!

By the way, that yummy beer I’m drinking is Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy. I had never had it before this weekend and it was great.

Monday I headed back to the city to get some errands done and relax before the 4-day week began. So here’s the update on my knee. No surgery needed! I’m actually almost bummed because if it was a tear they could just remove, I’d have the surgery and be done with it. Turns out it’s a sprain so I’m not sure how long I need to rest it before I can start up again. I see the doc Thurs to find out. Advice from anyone with knee sprain history?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 14:47:28

    sounds like a great weekend! Glad your knee doesn’t need surgery and will hope it’s a quick recovery for you!

    Reply

  2. Lindsay
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 15:15:23

    So happy you don’t need surgery. Hopefully it will heal quickly. It has to be faster than a surgery recovery I’d think. I was nervous to even attempt to run again. I don’t think I was afraid I’d “lost” it. I think I was more afraid that my HR was going to shoot up again and I’d be at square one all over. Thankfully that wasn’t the case. Have a great day girl! XOXO

    Reply

  3. fitandfortysomething
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 16:06:27

    love the new grill! i so wish i had one 🙂 and glad you don’t need surgery.

    Reply

  4. hundredtenpounds
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 19:19:21

    I don’t have experience with knee sprains but I had so many ankle sprains and strains that I had to have surgery. One thing I can emphasize: DO THE PT!!!! Don’t slack on the physical therapy, even if you’re feeling better.

    Reply

  5. Keri
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 06:53:08

    Yayyy Jersey shore! What town is your house in? I definitely hope to do more races down there this summer. My boyfriend is originally from Wall so we go down quite often. I plan to do the Belmar 5, Parker House Fun Run (I don’t know if this can be counted as racing but still…) and possibly the George Sheehan Classic…I think it is in Redbank. Let me know what races you decided to do!

    Reply

  6. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 10:04:24

    I’m so glad you discovered Leinenkugel’s Summer Shandy!!! Try the Honey Weiss, too. Both awesome beers. Perfect “It’s summer so I’m going to do nothing but lay outside” beers.

    Proudly brewed here in the Midwest. (Well, Wisconsin brews it but I live in Minnesota and feel like I can take credit for their awesomeness.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

