I’ve been hacked

What a week it’s been. So there’s not much update on the knee front. Just waiting for the results of the MRI, if I’ll need surgery and when more importantly, when I can run again.

As if my week wasn’t bad enough, this morning my Gmail account got hacked. I’m on it one minute and the next I’m signed out and can’t get back in because my password has been changed. I thought it had to do with Facebook viruses but looks like it was a script bot-type program. Literally anyone who I’ve ever emailed received this rediculous message from me. Cut to me crying hysterically at my desk not knowing what to do because Gmail doesn’t have a phone number to call for help. Eventually it got resolved and I’ve changed my password but we also found that it was forwarding all new mail to a different account and sending them to trash as well. Ughhhhh. Moral of the story is be careful and make good passwords. It’s hard to prevent this stuff from happening but at least make it as hard as possible for a-holes to screw with you.

Enjoy your holiday weekend. I for one will be at the Jersey Shore, relaxing, most likely with a beer or margarita in hand.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    May 28, 2010 @ 13:44:54

    Yikes! Sorry about your email! That must have been uber-frustrating! Especially now that we all basically live off of email!

    I hope you get good news about your knee. I know how brutal not being able to run is – especially with such great weather. So, I’m sending good thoughts your way!

    Have fun at the shore!

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    May 29, 2010 @ 01:08:31

    Oh no, that’s terrible. How did you resolve the issue? I have a gmail account and I wouldn’t know what to do if that happened.

    Reply

  3. Lindsay
    May 30, 2010 @ 12:22:44

    That is the worst. I’m gald you were able to get it straightend out though. I know these stupid hackers cause so many problems for unsuspecting people and I just don’t get why they do this stuff. Sorry..I’ll stop ranting now. Have fun sippin a margarita girlie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

