MRI time

Went to the knee doc and he’s sending me off to get an MRI. Don’t want to think about it until I get the results, but he thinks I tore my meniscus. What does a runner do when they can’t run?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    May 27, 2010 @ 11:56:37

    I hated getting the MRI done… sitting still that long is NO FUN!

    I wish you luck.

    Reply

  2. Beth
    May 27, 2010 @ 12:22:22

    Ughhh. Talk to your doctor about what you CAN do. Maybe some time off from running will help you discover some other healthy passions like swimming?? Just tryin’ to be positive here. 😉

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    May 27, 2010 @ 12:24:19

    Oh no!. When I couldn’t run I took up spinning. Now I’m addicted. Would you be able to do that with a torn meniscus? If you can it’s a great way to keep up with cardio workouts.

    Reply

  4. fitandfortysomething
    May 27, 2010 @ 12:38:57

    so sorry! could you ride a bike?

    Reply

  5. Lindsay
    May 27, 2010 @ 13:36:46

    Good luck. Maybe swimming would be okay. It’s easier on the joints, so maybe. I’m crossing my fingers for you.

    Reply

  6. 3:59:59. Bitches
    May 27, 2010 @ 15:57:05

    Ugh, dealt with the whole meniscus tear/surgery/PT a few years ago. Pain in the ass (slash knee) but recovery is pretty quick. And in your downtime, you can focus on strength training. My arms looked like Popeye by the time I was allowed to put weight on it again… Hang in there.

    Reply

  7. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    May 27, 2010 @ 16:08:14

    You poor thing! You could try swimming like Beth suggested, otherwise use this as an opportunity to do something ridiculous like kickboxing? Using your upperbody, of course. So punchboxing?

    Hoping the MRI turns out okay!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

