Laced up the sneaks…

So the knee was feeling OK (not 100%) this morning and I figured I had to attempt a short run. Nothing crazy in Central Park, just a little East River jog. I did a mile and boy how easy it is to feel out of shape so quickly. I was huffin and puffin the whole way. But the real disappointing thing was that afterwards my knee just hurt. I hobbled back to my apt and was bummed. So looks like I’ll be keeping that appt on Thursday for the orthopedist. Anyone know what kind of injury affects the back of the knee?

At least I got an award to brighten up my day, care of my fave bloggy friend Kerrie at Mom vs. Marathon.

So here goes my 7 fun things:
1) I’m going to the Sex and the City 2 premiere!  My friend is in town and he was given 2 tix for the event and so he’s taking me. The best part is it’s finally a press event I can enjoy and not be working at! So excited to see what the girls have in store for the second movie.

2) My sister got engaged. It happened while I was away and we’re just so excited. Her and D have been together almost 4 years and so we were all waiting in anticipation for him to pop the question. I’m the maid of honor, of course!

3) I was on the track team for 1 season in HS and refused to ever run in a race. I don’t even remember why I joined the team but I was a big-time volleyball player and probably wanted to add a sport for my college resume. Funny how years and years later running has become a passion of mine.

4) This upcoming weekend is the first weekend of the summer season I’ll be at my house in the Jersey Shore. I can’t wait to just relax and hang out with my friends, chill on our porch at night, and get away from the city.

5) I just read a great book on my vacation and there’s nothing more that I love than finding a good book. It’s called The Opposite of Me and it was the author’s first novel and I thought it was wonderful. I’m also super excited that I’m now reading Emily Giffin’s latest book Heart of the Matter. I heart Emily!

6)I’m plant-sitting this week for my friend and I’m pretty sure I have no idea what I’m doing. She has all these pretty plants on her terrace and left me directions how to water and how much miracle grow to use, but I’m afraid I’m going to kill them. I’m a New Yorker, we don’t garden.

7) I can’t think of a 7th fun fact. Um, this is awkward.

And now I’m supposed to pass this on to 15 Bloggy Buddies, but I’m going with 10 on this one. I apologize if you already got this!
1) Lindsay at Pancakes N Pajamas b/c we’re new bloggy buddies and I love the title of her blog.
2) Kelli at Nursing School, Life and Everything in Between because she just started her weight-loss journey and that’s never easy.
3) Amy at Second City Randomness because I love her blog and she has great hair 🙂
4) Will Run for Beer because she’s freakin hilarious. Seriously.
5) Beth at Beth’s Journey to Thin because she has a great blog, updates all the time, and has great foodie pics.
6) Lisa at Early Morning Run because she’s a fellow NYC runner and we have like the same exact palate.
7) Jacklyn at Jayewalking because she’s a runner who is also in the writing industry and the girl is really inciteful!
8) Holly at Rust Belt Runner b/c her comments on my blog always makes me feel better!
9) Fit & 40-something because she’s also a great motivator and recently did a Red Wine giveaway. Sold!
10) Run, Eat, Date Sleep b/c I love following her journey and she recently ran the NYC half!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hundredtenpounds
    May 24, 2010 @ 00:25:02

    Fun facts! Sex & City premiere sounds like fun!!!

    Reply

  2. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    May 24, 2010 @ 01:10:12

    So many things to say…
    1. Fave? Thanks!
    2. So jealous of the S&C 2 premiere! What are you going to wear?! Too fun!
    3. Congrats to your sister!
    4. Why is it that every time I hear “Jersey Shore,” I think of Billy Joel?
    5. I heart Emily Giffin, too! (Although my book club, me included, were not impressed with Love the One You’re With. I loved Something Borrowed, so I forgive her and will read Something Blue this summer.)
    6. Sorry about your knee. Hope you find out something useful during your doc. appt.

    Hope it’s a good week!

    Reply

  3. Keri
    May 24, 2010 @ 06:52:44

    I read Emily Giffin’s new book too…I finished it in less than a week 🙂 Also, I ❤ the Jersey Shore. My boyfriend is from there and we basically spend every weekend down there in the summer.

    Reply

  4. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    May 24, 2010 @ 07:10:46

    I’m so sorry your knee is still giving you trouble!!! So frustrating!

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    May 24, 2010 @ 07:12:52

    Aw thanks for the award, sweetie! I’m glad my hair gets me fun things! ha ha Love it.

    I hope the knee is ok- but the back of the knee? That’s an interesting one…

    Reply

  6. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    May 24, 2010 @ 09:56:15

    To say I’m jealous of your SATC2 premiere attendance would be an understatement. I will be watching it at a theater in Wisconsin. I’m living the life.

    Hopefully you find out what’s going on with your knee…I can’t imagine what it must be like to not be able to run!

    Reply

  7. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    May 24, 2010 @ 10:24:14

    Aw, thanks for the award! 😉

    Bummer on the knee. Hope it gets better soon and the doc can tell you what is up!

    Reply

  8. Lindsay
    May 24, 2010 @ 10:52:02

    Sorry the knee is still bothering you. That doc appointment can’t come fast enough!

    Reply

  9. fitandfortysomething
    May 24, 2010 @ 15:28:44

    oh i love this! thank you so much 🙂 and so jeolous of the premeire 🙂

    Reply

  10. Jacklyn Johnston
    May 24, 2010 @ 16:04:32

    Aw thanks! I was reading this post and loving your 7 things then I saw my name and was like, wait a minute 🙂 haha. How fun! I’ll have to check out that book. I need some recommendations for the summer so this is perfect! And on being out of shape while running. I’m picking it up this week and KNOW I’m going to run a mile and be done. Agh, I used to run 20. How utterly frustrating 🙂 Good luck with the plants!

    Reply

  11. 3:59:59. Bitches
    May 25, 2010 @ 11:25:06

    Sorry to hear about the knee; injuries are frustrating, but they give you an opportunity to reflect on running, and are good reminders for the next time you’re sitting on the couch double-fisting cupcakes and not wanting to put on your sneakers. I mean, hypothetically. I never do that. Just saying…

    And thanks for the shout out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

