Injured my first day back

Seriously! So Tuesday was my first full day back and of course I had to get a run in. So at lunch I was short on time and went for a fast-paced 2 mile run on the treadmill. Finished in 28:25, nothing crazy by any means. But towards the end I wasn’t OK. I pushed through figuring it was just that I was rusty. I mean I only ran once my entire vacay. Well it’s Thursday and I’m still limping. I’ve been icing every day but it doesn’t seem to help. It hurts behind my knee, in the back, and hurts to fully straighten it. The pain, which is dull and not shooting, doesn’t go away and only worsens with certain movements. I know you’re going to ask if I’ve run since, and no I haven’t. But if I wasn’t so busy with work I’d probably test it out and make it worse. So friends, what is it? Will it go away? I made an appt with an orthopedist but it’s not until next Thursday. I’m scurrrrred.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    May 20, 2010 @ 23:39:50

    Oh no! That does not sound good. I would suggest not running on it. Maybe something’s just strained and it will heal with some rest. If not, you have a doc appt, so that’s good.

    Reply

  2. Lindsay
    May 21, 2010 @ 07:43:21

    Uh oh…not sounding great girlie. Keep icing and elevating it. I would stay off of it as much as possible. I know that’s disappointing.

    Reply

  3. fitandfortysomething
    May 21, 2010 @ 14:22:10

    so sorry!

    Reply

  4. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    May 22, 2010 @ 09:55:25

    Sorry to hear! Ice bath anyone?

    Reply

  5. Anne
    May 22, 2010 @ 21:09:49

    Oh no, so sorry to read this…

    I saw your name on Kerrie’s post and thought I’d come by for a visit. I hope you feel better real soon.

    Reply

  6. Julie
    May 23, 2010 @ 09:48:53

    I am so sorry to hear about your back:( Hopefully it will be better soon and you will be back in action. Take care of yourself:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

