I’m back!

Holy crap it’s been awhile. Feels like I’ve been gone forever. Hawaii was incredible. Absolutely amazing to be exact. While I could ramble on about my trip, I’ll try to sum it up with the important stuff, like what I ate and ran while I was away:)

The first morning I had a lovely Hawaiian breakfast out on the lanai. I was staying with my college friend Jamie, who lives with her parents in Kauai. Tough life, right? Her mom made eggs, portugese sausage, white rice and toast with this awesome strawberry-guava jam.

My first full day in Kauai was mother’s day so myself, Jamie, her parents, Jamie’s boyfriend and his roommate camped out in Polihale. We packed up the car with tons of food and a plethora of beverages, and set out to this secluded beach that takes 4 miles of off-roading to get to. It was incredible. We swam in the ocean, made s’mores, camped under the stars. Here’s a few pics.



Jamie lives on the south shore, but one of my favorite spots was Hanalei Bay that we visited on our north shore drive.


And of course I took a picture of the most delicious ahi burrito we had at the Wailua Fish Market.

On Wednesday morning, Jamie had to work so I went for a run. I drove to a spot where I left the car and then ran 2 miles down to the beach. J had told me it was a 4 mile run roundtrip and trusty Garmin confirmed that. I took some pics along the way.




Another noteworthy adventure I must talk about is Kipu Falls. I’m usually somewhat fearless but I could not get myself to jump off the cliff into the water. It was about 20 feet but looking down it seemed endless. Everyone else did it and eventually some nice local offered to hold my hand and jump together. Here we are.

The last night, Jamie and I ate at my favorite, Duke’s. I’ve been to the one in Malibu and Oahu. So yummy. I had Monchong which is a Hawaiian white fish. Also had some garlic mashed potatoes.


So that was the trip. I have so much to catch up on, my google reader is in the 200’s!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    May 19, 2010 @ 15:19:28

    Looks like you had such a great time! I’m jealous to say the least… and welcome back to the blogging world! 😉

    Reply

  2. Lindsay
    May 19, 2010 @ 15:20:09

    The pictures are gorgeous. You can bet I wouldn’t have jumped of the cliff either..no way! Glad you’re back!

    Reply

  3. hbobier @ Basil Vodka
    May 19, 2010 @ 16:12:48

    I love Hawaii! I studied abroad on Oahu and Kauai for a month when I was in school. I’m moderately sure I went to Kipu falls, too. Did you do any ziplining? Aah these pictures take me back! Thanks for posting!

    Reply

  4. Jacklyn Johnston
    May 19, 2010 @ 23:48:26

    Where have you been all my life?!!? haha. Glad you’re back 🙂 Man, that trip looks amazing! The pictures, you look great! And I can’t imagine better scenery on your run. I hope you are refreshed and relaxed. Welcome back friend!

    Reply

  5. fitandfortysomething
    May 20, 2010 @ 15:06:30

    oh what an amazing trip! i am sure you are golden brown and rejuvinated for sure 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

