Running twice a day maybe not so smart

Although I pack lunch most days, once in awhile an offer to be taken to lunch is worth it to screw my tuna salad. Yesterday was that day. We had a going away lunch for our intern’s last day and went to Brooklyn Diner, an upscale diner that has huge portions and charges way too much. But it is in Times Square so that’s expected. After mulling over the menu I went with a tuna melt. Yes I’ve been eating tuna every day but a tuna melt sounded perfect. Look at this thing.

It came with soup which I didn’t really like so I left alone.

Yesterday I came home to beautiful weather and although I had run before work, I was energized and wanted to take advantage. I’m usually exhausted after a full day so I figured I’d do a short run. As soon as I was off my legs told me, “Excuse me, what are you thinking right now?” But it was nice out! Regardess,ย here’s why it probably wasn’t smart
– I didn’t stretch after my morning run which lead to utter pain in my right hip after the second
– I had blood taken an hour prior and it’s never a good idea to workout after getting blood taken
– It was hot and I was thirsty

And speaking over oversized meals, today I got oatmeal from the deli and look at the small!

I did not finish the whole thing, even though it was good. I finished when I was full. Maybe Intuitive Eating is really working ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    May 05, 2010 @ 10:37:35

    I’ve been to the Brooklyn Diner up on 57th quite a few times and they DO have huge portions! It’s strange too, because I feel a lot of their customers are tourists, especially in Times Sq, and they can’t take leftovers back to their hotel rooms! Lots of wasted food, I imagine.

    Good job trying to get out there for a second run! You definitely had the best intensions!

    Reply

  2. fitandfortysomething
    May 05, 2010 @ 12:46:29

    so glad to hear that the intuitive eating thing is working for you!

    Reply

  3. hundredtenpounds
    May 05, 2010 @ 14:31:33

    As part of my training this summer I’m going to attempt to run two times in a day. I’m training for Hood To Coast relay race and will have to run 3 times with about 8-10 hours in between each run.

    Reply

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    May 05, 2010 @ 14:58:11

    I’ve done two-a-days before because, like you, I got really excited. I definitely think now it’s a good idea to stick to just one a day… lol

    And I love that you eat the same thing everyday for lunch, too. I’m salad crazy these days… still wondering when I’m going to get sick of it!

    Reply

  5. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    May 05, 2010 @ 18:56:44

    Congrats on the success with intuitive eating! I don’t think I could ever run twice in one day, unless the second run was more of a shuffle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  6. Melissa
    May 06, 2010 @ 10:46:05

    I don’t know that I could EVER run twice in one day, but good for you being able to.

    And yippee for intuitive eating . ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. Lindsay
    May 06, 2010 @ 11:54:13

    What a big bowl o’ oats! Intuitive eating is really hard for me. Congrats on your success!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

