Why I’ve been so tired

Yesterday I got back the results from my physical and it turns out I may actually have an explanation for being so exhausted lately. My vitamin B-12 levels are very low as are my vitamin D. B-12 is important for metabolism and helps in the formation of red blood cells and in the maintenance of the central nervous system. What’s interesting is that while I haven’t been eating much meat (once in 2 weeks), I do eat a fair amount of eggs, fish and a lot of yogurt. So I’ve started taking a daily supplement in hopes my energy will improve! I’m also taking 2000 iu daily of D. So I’ll let you all know how I feel in the upcoming days/weeks.

Last night I cooked up one of my fave recipes, spaghetti squash with a veggie medley in marinara sauce. I love making this because it’s easy, you can use whatever veggies you like, and you can eat a lot of it guilt-free. I made sure to take pics so that I could show you step-by-step.

Now if anyone wants a good muscle workout, try cutting into a squash. I swear I started sweating as I tried to rip through that sucker. Once you do it though, you spoon out all the seeds and discard.
Before:
After:

I microwaved 1 half at a time (didn’t feel like waiting to roast it in the oven) and put it in a shallow bowl with a little bit of water, and then covered in saran wrap leaving an opening.

While that cooked I chopped up the veggies. I went with broccoli, 1 red pepper, 1 yellow pepper and mushrooms.

Next I start cooking the broccoli in a little bit of olive oil and then added a tiny bit of veggie stock. Not sure if it does anything, but I feel more gourmet. I also put another pan over the veggies for a little to get it cooking.

I also added a bit of the marinara sauce to get the flavors combined as well as some frozen peas because I love peas.

While everything is cooking, the squash was ready. Careful it’s freakin hot! When you can touch it, and yes I always burn myself because I’m impatient, start forking out the strands.

It makes a ton!

Next I put some in a bowl, add a generous amount of sauce, add the veggies, and then sprinkle some parmesan. Delicioso!

This morning I ran 2.5 outside, so I’m off to a good start. Happy Tuesday!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    May 04, 2010 @ 10:57:56

    This looks fantastic! I thought about making spaghetti squash all last fall but never did cause I thought it would be too much work. guess I was SO wrong!

    great job on the run this morning!

    Reply

  2. fitandfortysomething
    May 04, 2010 @ 11:48:47

    i was deficient in both of those and starting supplementing with high quality products and i feel SOOOOOO much better! i know you will too-enter my giveaway robyn if you get a chance 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lindsay
    May 04, 2010 @ 11:54:52

    Spaghetti squash really is a good workout! Love your blog!

    Reply

  4. hundredtenpounds
    May 04, 2010 @ 12:07:44

    Spaghetti squash is a great substitute for pasta! We made spaghetti squash once and topped it with marinara sauce and turkey meatballs. Delish!

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    May 04, 2010 @ 12:21:21

    Well I’m glad you figured it out! Hopefully the supplement helps out… i hate feeling sluggish!

    And I’ve never made spaghetti squash- you make it look easy(?)

    Reply

  6. Dawn (HealthySDLiving)
    May 04, 2010 @ 12:45:53

    Happy Tuesday! 🙂
    Mmmm I love spaghetti squash! So many things you can do with it!

    Reply

  7. A@Please Don't Eat Me!
    May 04, 2010 @ 13:05:06

    Hi Robyn!!! Robyn is my twin sister’s name, she is also a writer/runner.. you had me going thinking it was her till i saw the NYC ; )
    thanks for coming by my blog!!

    may i recommend the supplement called Hair Skin & Nails, i dont eat alot of meat and tend to get tired, grumpy, and anemic, my doc said since i dont like to eat meat that much i should take a vit b supplement, and the HSN vit i take is really good powerful stuff!
    also, nutritional yeast! sprinkle it on anything from popcorn to spag squash, its a nutty cheesey “parm”cheese like stuff

    Reply

  8. Tricia
    May 04, 2010 @ 13:10:26

    LOVE spaghetti squash!

    Reply

  9. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self
    May 04, 2010 @ 15:17:12

    Oh I absolutely adore spaghetti squash!

    Glad you figured out why you’ve been so tired. Hopefully things get better from here! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Sarah
    May 04, 2010 @ 15:30:05

    Yum that looks pretty good. I may have to try it sometime!

    Reply

  11. Jacklyn Johnston
    May 04, 2010 @ 19:32:49

    You’re not kidding about the muscle workout. haha. When I made this for the first time I couldn’t believe it. I love this meal. I’ll have to try it with the veggies on top. Mmm.

    Reply

  12. Melissa
    May 05, 2010 @ 14:27:37

    You make that look soooo freaking good. Now I have to try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

