It’s getting hot out there

I left the apartment and it was 78 degrees already and I’m pretty sure it reached well into the 80’s while I was out there. I knew I wanted to do the 6-mile loop but a few obstacles made that a little bit more harder than usual. First there was the race. There was a Revlon Run/Walk for Women which I had actually had meant to sign up for. Fail on my part. When I first saw the pack of racers I have to admit I had a bit of race envy. But the race only became a bit of a pain. For the majority of my running I had about 2 feet of space to work with while packs and packs of walkers came towards me. Talk about dodging. Once I hit about the 4 mile mark and was hitting the home stretch, the heat started to get to me as well. I had been able to score a cup of water from the race starting line long abandoned but didn’t drink anything else on my route. Although I had to slow it down and my time suffered (1:04:02) I’m glad I got it done. And on the way home got a refreshing iced tea.

After a hot shower (with some screams resulting from areas I had chafed), I made myself a little egg white and spinach on whole wheat with lots of ketchup.

Because we knew the weather was supposed to be hot and sunny, the roomie decided we’d do some day drinking/sun-soaking on our building’s terrace. I can’t believe we actually got our act together and did it!

Am I missing anything? I don’t think so:)

After the sun it was definitely time to ice the knees. Should I really be hurting after a 6-mile run? This is me right now:

This + waiting for a “zen tofu wrap” I ordered (trying out a new health place and yes, everything delivers in NYC) + a long list of DVR’d programming = perfect night.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    May 01, 2010 @ 19:15:54

    Glad to know I’m not the only one chafing the joint up!

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    May 01, 2010 @ 20:08:56

    Oh I did a little day drinking out on my balconey today with a friend, too! Can’t beat it…

    So jealous of all your great runs! I hope I’m back up to speed soon!

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    May 01, 2010 @ 22:01:28

    Jealous of the sun and suds. 🙂

    Reply

  4. hundredtenpounds
    May 02, 2010 @ 13:08:06

    Aw, ice….love it! It feels so much better after icing.

    Reply

  5. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    May 02, 2010 @ 18:01:34

    Ice! Feels so good after a run — well, I do cold baths, close enough.

    About the chafing. I put body glide under the bubbies and around my groin area to try to prevent chafing. Sorry if that was too much info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

